Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Like so many others, it was hard to believe that this would turn out to be anything worth eating. I cut the recipe in half (worried that it might really be yuck, even though it had good reviews) and processed the nuts and the cereal to make sure it wasn't too chunky. Because I'm a person that likes more spicy food, I added a bit of ketchup to the mix, pepper, garlic powder, celery powder. I just tasted it and oh, my goodness, folks were right, it is good!! I'm still shaking my head in disbelief. This is a perfect recipe for me and leftovers will be used for sandwiches. The texture, consistency and look is just like meatloaf. I'm not sure why others had problems with the consistency, no problems for me. Now that I made it, I'll probably do some more additions next time i.e. instead of using the dry soup mix, just make up my own mix with less salt. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So delicious! I also added an extra cup of corn flakes and only used two eggs. I added 2 T flax seeds mixed with 3 T water. Reduced oil to 1/8 c and added one shredded carrot and one shredded zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
The consistency was like mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Sorry! No rating! In order to post I had to rate it-should be a minus one star. I'm not a vegetarian but I thought I would make this as a side dish instead of potatoes. I thought it would taste like meatloaf but it didn't come close. All I could taste was the onion mix and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
OMG!!!!!!! I have been looking for and trying to reproduce this recipe since 1974!!!! My neighbor was vegetarian and fixed this. I loved it!! I eat meat and I loved it!! I always knew about the onion soup mix, but--finally the missing piece, WALNUTS!!! She made her's into patties, like burgers!! I'm making these right NOW!!!!!!!!! THANK You Who ever submitted this!!! Jackie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I recently went vegetarian and it's very challenging finding something that can give you the satisfaction of meat without a horrible aftertaste. I didn't chop my walnut fine enough and it gave a weird texture but that didn't stop me from eating it. Next time I will pulse them in the food processor. This recipe is a keeper. I will be slicing some in the morning and putting it on the griddle to eat with some eggs and fried potatoes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dessert Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
We love this! I make quite a few changes but I wanted to rate it anyway because it's a great base recipe that you can tweak to your liking! The only thing I didn't care for the first time was the walnuts so I leave them out now and add extra veggies for texture -onions, carrots, bell pepper and mushrooms along with a few good squirts of ketchup and BBQ sauce. I use fat-free cottage cheese (blended), about 3 c bran flakes, egg beater (whites) and omit the oil. I top it with sliced tomatoes with a little pepper on top. I've even added 1/2 c cooked quinoa & some chia seed with great results! My version takes about 1 1/2 hrs to cook through and firms up as it cools. Thanks KITTYANN for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
The lone meat-eater in the house proclaims the to be the best meatless meatloaf he's had yet. I've even used a traditional brown sugar/ketchup glaze in the bottom of the pan once or twice to make it more authentic and it works just fine. Super quick and easy to throw together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
In case anyone else has the inclination to shape this like a meatloaf in a casserole dish, don't. Apparently, it says "spoon" into loaf pan for a reason, otherwise it will spread out flat! Now that that's established, on to the review. This was yummy, and tastes very much like a meatloaf (as vegetarianly possible). I also added, and highly recommend, chopped celery, onion, and carrot... adds texture and gives it more of a savory flavor. I also omitted the walnut's so the added veggies made up for the crunch without blowing a hole in my wallet. I left out the oil too (didn't and still don't see its purpose), only used 3 eggs, and threw in another handful of cornflakes. Thanks for the vegetarian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe has been a favorite of mine since I found it here 8 years ago. I've served it to meat eaters and vegetarians and both seem to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States