Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
The consistency was like mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Sorry! No rating! In order to post I had to rate it-should be a minus one star. I'm not a vegetarian but I thought I would make this as a side dish instead of potatoes. I thought it would taste like meatloaf but it didn't come close. All I could taste was the onion mix and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
OMG!!!!!!! I have been looking for and trying to reproduce this recipe since 1974!!!! My neighbor was vegetarian and fixed this. I loved it!! I eat meat and I loved it!! I always knew about the onion soup mix, but--finally the missing piece, WALNUTS!!! She made her's into patties, like burgers!! I'm making these right NOW!!!!!!!!! THANK You Who ever submitted this!!! Jackie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I recently went vegetarian and it's very challenging finding something that can give you the satisfaction of meat without a horrible aftertaste. I didn't chop my walnut fine enough and it gave a weird texture but that didn't stop me from eating it. Next time I will pulse them in the food processor. This recipe is a keeper. I will be slicing some in the morning and putting it on the griddle to eat with some eggs and fried potatoes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dessert Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
We love this! I make quite a few changes but I wanted to rate it anyway because it's a great base recipe that you can tweak to your liking! The only thing I didn't care for the first time was the walnuts so I leave them out now and add extra veggies for texture -onions, carrots, bell pepper and mushrooms along with a few good squirts of ketchup and BBQ sauce. I use fat-free cottage cheese (blended), about 3 c bran flakes, egg beater (whites) and omit the oil. I top it with sliced tomatoes with a little pepper on top. I've even added 1/2 c cooked quinoa & some chia seed with great results! My version takes about 1 1/2 hrs to cook through and firms up as it cools. Thanks KITTYANN for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
The lone meat-eater in the house proclaims the to be the best meatless meatloaf he's had yet. I've even used a traditional brown sugar/ketchup glaze in the bottom of the pan once or twice to make it more authentic and it works just fine. Super quick and easy to throw together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
In case anyone else has the inclination to shape this like a meatloaf in a casserole dish, don't. Apparently, it says "spoon" into loaf pan for a reason, otherwise it will spread out flat! Now that that's established, on to the review. This was yummy, and tastes very much like a meatloaf (as vegetarianly possible). I also added, and highly recommend, chopped celery, onion, and carrot... adds texture and gives it more of a savory flavor. I also omitted the walnut's so the added veggies made up for the crunch without blowing a hole in my wallet. I left out the oil too (didn't and still don't see its purpose), only used 3 eggs, and threw in another handful of cornflakes. Thanks for the vegetarian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe has been a favorite of mine since I found it here 8 years ago. I've served it to meat eaters and vegetarians and both seem to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Despite the scores of reviews telling me so, I was still surprised when this interesting mix of ingredients turned into something impressive! In lieu of own 'onion soup' mix to make it a bit more natural...I used 2ts thyme, a vege boullion cube, 1/2 c diceed onion & 2tb dried onion. Following the advice of another reviewer, I also brushed the top with ketchup/BBQ sauce in the last 10 mins of baking. Thanks for posting - a definite 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This definitely doesn't taste like meat, but I eat mostly vegetarian so I didn't care. Personally, I thought this was a 3 star recipe as is, but I did make a few changes. I used home-made onion soup mix, and I processed all of the ingredients in the food processor. I am going to make this again, but when you google "cottage cheese roast" there are quite a few other recipes that call for special k. Next time I'm going to only process the walnuts and try just mixing the ingredients. While it did taste good, it kind of tasted like stuffing. I'm definitely going to try this one again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States