Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Best non=meat loaf I have ever had. Taste is out of this world, mouth feel is stupendous. As a practicing vegetarian I plan to have this a couple of times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I make it with these variations and bake it at 350* for 1 hour & 10 minutes - let cool at least 10 minutes before slicing: 2 cups cottage cheese 2 eggs 1 cup walnuts -- chopped 4 cups Special K cereal 3 Tbs. margarine -- melted 1/2 package onion soup mix 1/2 tsp. sage 1/2 tsp. thyme 1/8 tsp. pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've made this dozens of times and can't believe I've never reviewed it. This is one of my favorite things to make when I want comfort food. I usually make smashed potatoes and mushroom gravy to go along with it. I've made it several different ways including using low fat cottage cheese. But when I want a special treat I use the 4%. Usually use Italian style panko breads crumbs instead of corn flakes only because I never have corn flakes in the house. Sometime I use 3 eggs, sometimes 4. Haven't really noticed much difference. Sometimes I add ketchup or tomato sauce. It doesn't taste like meat loaf but being a vegetarian I don't want it to. Makes a great cold sandwich the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Nice easy hardy recipe....loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was great! I added some baby portabella mushrooms, used only 3 eggs and about 2 tablespoons of oil! Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this recipe as stated the first several times, and rated it on the original recipe. I loved it. Meatloaf is one of the foods I missed when I became a vegetarian. I was hesitant to try it the first time since the ingredients are so strange, but I am glad I did. I have made some changes with the recipe in order to cut down on the sodium level. I use low sodium cottage cheese, and use only 1/2 envelope of onion soup mix, and then add more dried onions. I add chopped cooked mushrooms also, mainly because I love mushrooms and used to put them in my "meat" meatloaf. Makes great sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was really fantastic. I added a chopped onion and a cup of chopped mushrooms. When i make this next, I will grind the walnuts to a powdered consistency instead of hand chopping them. Honestly, it was really just the walnuts that would have definitely tipped off someone that it was definitely not some kind of meat. I also would have added some Worcester sauce and more seasoning, as it did cook down a bit bland. But, it is moist, and has amazing potential to be customized to suit nearly any palate. A really awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T. It had a slightly odd texture I think. Perhaps more a bit more eggs would do it better. I wonder how it would taste with special K instead of cornflakes? Well, maybe next time. Overall, I am not sure I will make it again for a long time and if I do, there will be some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is a recipe that allows you to eat onion soup mix without feeling too guilty. That said, we kind of like things like onion soup mix, so we liked this recipe, which, other than sodium content (which I'm just guessing is high), seems pretty healthy and filling. It actually did feel like meatloaf, although it was not all THAT good (sorry, but I LOVE meatloaf), but I may try some adjustments with it. Certainly worth making it again. I am eager to try it in the form of a sandwich with mayo and lettuce. My husband who is German (read: meat and potatoes!) also liked it. Our first attempt did not slice well, but I didn't tell my husband that the pile on his plate looked like cat food. It didn't taste like it, and if we can get it to slice properly: WIN. Grind the walnuts up pretty fine. I didn't mind them but noted the pieces that were larger and would have preferred the smaller pieces to add to the firmer texture of the whole loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I cut this recipe in half, used chopped pecans as I didn't have any walnuts and only used a tsp. of olive oil in place of the vegetable oil. It ended up needing 50 minutes to bake.It was so amazing, I couldn't quit eating it. Next time I'm going to try it with chopped cooked spinach and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States