Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this recipe as stated the first several times, and rated it on the original recipe. I loved it. Meatloaf is one of the foods I missed when I became a vegetarian. I was hesitant to try it the first time since the ingredients are so strange, but I am glad I did. I have made some changes with the recipe in order to cut down on the sodium level. I use low sodium cottage cheese, and use only 1/2 envelope of onion soup mix, and then add more dried onions. I add chopped cooked mushrooms also, mainly because I love mushrooms and used to put them in my "meat" meatloaf. Makes great sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was really fantastic. I added a chopped onion and a cup of chopped mushrooms. When i make this next, I will grind the walnuts to a powdered consistency instead of hand chopping them. Honestly, it was really just the walnuts that would have definitely tipped off someone that it was definitely not some kind of meat. I also would have added some Worcester sauce and more seasoning, as it did cook down a bit bland. But, it is moist, and has amazing potential to be customized to suit nearly any palate. A really awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T. It had a slightly odd texture I think. Perhaps more a bit more eggs would do it better. I wonder how it would taste with special K instead of cornflakes? Well, maybe next time. Overall, I am not sure I will make it again for a long time and if I do, there will be some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is a recipe that allows you to eat onion soup mix without feeling too guilty. That said, we kind of like things like onion soup mix, so we liked this recipe, which, other than sodium content (which I'm just guessing is high), seems pretty healthy and filling. It actually did feel like meatloaf, although it was not all THAT good (sorry, but I LOVE meatloaf), but I may try some adjustments with it. Certainly worth making it again. I am eager to try it in the form of a sandwich with mayo and lettuce. My husband who is German (read: meat and potatoes!) also liked it. Our first attempt did not slice well, but I didn't tell my husband that the pile on his plate looked like cat food. It didn't taste like it, and if we can get it to slice properly: WIN. Grind the walnuts up pretty fine. I didn't mind them but noted the pieces that were larger and would have preferred the smaller pieces to add to the firmer texture of the whole loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I cut this recipe in half, used chopped pecans as I didn't have any walnuts and only used a tsp. of olive oil in place of the vegetable oil. It ended up needing 50 minutes to bake.It was so amazing, I couldn't quit eating it. Next time I'm going to try it with chopped cooked spinach and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I liked the concept of this recipe. I tried it "as is", which is only fair if you're going to write a review, IMO. I do think it needs tweaking (seasoning, some diced fresh veggies, maybe some nutritional yeast) and will be looking over the other reviews for suggestions. In fairness, there is considerable confusion over the amount of cornflakes. Several reviewers said they used from 1/2 to 1 cup of additional cornflakes, and some said they used crushed or even pulverized cornflakes. The measure of cornflakes is going to be vastly different depending on whether you are measuring them loose from the box or pulverized, which reduces them to less than half. Also, the mention of "creamed cottage cheese" threw me (as it seems to have done with others). I since learned that this simply means full 4% fat, or "regular" cottage cheese. Not low-fat or dry curd. I see no need to cut down on the eggs. As is, it only contributes 1/2 an egg per serving. Ditto the oil. On a per serving basis, that's not all that much, and choosing a heart-healthy oil such as sunflower or light olive, and you needn't greatly reduce or eliminate this ingredient as many have done. I didn't think a full envelope of onion soup mix was too salty, but be aware that there is sometimes a big difference in the salt content from brand to brand. The generics tend to have more salt to save manufacturing cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Loved this recipe. I added mushrooms and onions to it. These are the strangest ingredients to put together and I had my doubt about it turning into a "loaf" but it did and was awesome. Not overly "meaty" for all you vegetarians. I made another meatloaf that grossed me out because the consistency too "meaty". I also did have to bake it for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by awebbchic
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I am always on the lookout for vegetarian dinner ideas that are protein packed. I decided to try this one even though I was weary of how it would turn out. I followed the directions exactly except I used low fat cottage cheese. It looked horrible mixed up as I put it in the loaf pan. It smelled great as it was cooking and when pulled out of the oven looked exactly like meatloaf. I did not tell my kids that this wasn't my usual meatloaf recipe. Everyone at the table ate it up and more! They raved about how great it tasted and asked what I had done differently! The meatloaf was moist and there was no one flavor that stood out to over power the overall taste. I am so excited I found this recipe, thanks for sharing KittyAnn! This will be made again and again in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awebbchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I have been a vegetarian for a number of years and usually depend on the Bocca/Morning Star veggie meals. I could not believe the ingredients and was just surprised enough to decide to try it. I cannot thank you enough for this wonderful recipe. I have made it several times and will now keep it on hand as I like it so well. I have some in the freezer now. I know you can add other ingredients, green peppers, bread crumbs, tomato sauce, etc, but it is GREAT just like it is. It deserves 10 stars. Again I thank you for sending this wonderful recipe. Do you have any more good ones?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Wow! What a great surprise this recipe was. My husband, who loves real meatloaf said it was so close to the real deal he could hardly tell. I added chopped onion, garlic and mushrooms. I served this with homemade mushroom gravy, roasted potatoes and steamed broccoli- what an amazing meal. The leftovers make awesome sandwiches too! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States