Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is one of those recipes that you gather your family or your favorite friend around to help you make so they too can share in the laughs because afterall, it is by far one of the weirdest recipes anyone's yet to see and you just know that nothing good could come of it but it'll sure be a lot of fun concocting the mess and watching it self destruct somewhere along the way. Well, mixing it up was a real riot--I think my husband and I near cracked a rib from laughing so hard at the mess that was in the bowl...it brought back memories of praying to the porcelain god for sure....:o) Then we popped in in the oven--and the most amazing thing happened--it actually came out looking like a loaf and it was pretty freakin' tasty--so much so that my carnivore hubby actually took a few slices for lunch one day. Who knew? I followed the recipe exactly as stated--I'm not sure why there's so much oil in the recipe but one could easily use less than half of what's called for. Once you make this loaf--you will quickly start imaginng all the things you could do to it--like swapping out the onion soup mix for something else, added veggies and other seasonings etc. This recipe is pretty neat and a lot of fun. I would recommend it to any skeptic. The ONLY THING IS THAT I HAD TO BAKE IT LONGER--ABOUT AN HOUR UNTIL IT WAS FIRM IN THE MIDDLE...I checked it at 45 mins and it was still jiggly when I shook the pan so I put it back in there for awhile longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. I added 1 add'l cup of corn flakes, reduced oil to 1/8 c. and used 2 eggs and 2 egg whites, as well as using lowfat cottage cheese. I baked for 60 min. and it was perfect. My toddler loved it too. Next time, I will add shredded carrots and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I love this recipe! It looks just like a paler meatloaf and it tastes like meatloaf, too! I've made it several times, trying all sorts of variations and I loved it every time. I tried it with one less egg, with no oil, with no nuts, with cashews, with a half cup of walnuts, with cooked diced peppers mixed in - all of them delicious. I always made it with at least 2 cups of corn flakes and always with 2% fat cottage cheese. It came out great everytime - never too mushy. I even ate it hot out of the oven and the slices held their shape. I have no idea what could be causing everyone else's problems. I used a glass loaf pan and cook it for an hour. I definately recommend the two cups of corn flakes and leaving out the oil. Three eggs works just fine and if you love nuts, don't leave them out. They sound odd but it really works. I loved it with yellow bell peppers mixed in. I'm going to try green peppers, carrots, onions, and mushrooms - not all at once. Give this recipe a shot, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is probably the cookiest recipe I've ever tried, but man if it didn't just shock the heck out of me and the family... absolutely wonderful! I did as other reviewers and cut the oil to 1/8 cup and used only 2 eggs. Also I didn't use a full packet of onion soup mix, half was PLENTY. I added mushrooms, onions, garlic, and served with mashed taters and mushroom gravy. Truely a great meatless meal that filled and satisfied us all. I WILL make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This LOOKED just like meatloaf after it was done cooking, but it DID NOT taste just like meatloaf as some others have reviewed. It smelled wonderful when it was cooking and looked good. I ate one piece and decided it was too much all-around for me. I dont care for nuts so the taste of walnuts was too overpowering. I love cottage cheese and it was not as prominant as I thought it would be due to the name of the roast. I decided to throw out the rest of the loaf after only one piece. It was just not for me. I got a strange aftertaste in my mouth. I was dissapointed, but the only way to know is to try it once, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Although it sounded weird and looked gross, after being prepared it tasted delicious! The next day it tastes even better! We added 1 extra cup of cornflakes and green onions and served it with mushroom gravy. Some chopped mushrooms next time might be good. Baked for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
my mom and i are vegetarian, and she's always asking if i'll make this meatloaf for her! it's so good! i use special k cornflakes, which i grind to a fine powder in my food processor, then i put all of the other ingredients in their and blend until well combined. i've used egg substitute instead of a real egg and it worked well also. this goes great with mashed potatoes! i reccommend baking the meatloaf in two medium sized loaf pans, because having it all in one sometimes takes forever to bake all the way through. cranberry sauce is great with this! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I was intrigued by this recipe when I came across it due to the novelty factor, and decided I had to try it at least once. I read a number of the reviews and followed some of the modifications -- extra cup of cornflakes, one less egg, a bit less walnuts, addition of garlic and onion powder, baking time of 50 minutes. My boyfriend and I had the result for lunch tonight, and we were both amazed by how meatloaf-like and fairly tasty it was. Next time I will try making my own onion soup mix, however, because the one I bought had a bunch of artificial ingredients and left a weird aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This meatless loaf was amazing. I would never have guess that cottage cheese and cornflakes could make THIS! I loved it. I used 2 1/2 cups of cornflakes, 1/8 cup of oil, 1/2 cup of walnuts, and added 1 cup of diced onions, green peppers, & mushrooms. Thanks so much for this recipe. It's wonderful. Hardens after sitting a bit. Can't wait to eat leftovers cold on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I really loved this. I was intrigued by the unusual combo of ingredients. I left out the oil completely and it was just fine. The only addition I made was to add garlic. Next time I make this, I think some chopped spinach would be yummy in the loaf. I did top this with a mixture of ketchup and tabasco sauce before baking and I did bake for one hour. I didn't eat this hot, since it was swelting here. It was very close to meatloaf, but not quite.. which was fine by me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States