Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
What do I say that has not already been said. For those who gave it a bad rating guess you need to look at a recipe and first decide if the ingrediants match your taste. If you don't like walnuts then this is not the dish for you. My opinion, always look at a recipe as a guide not an absolute. Thank you Kittyann for a fun and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Great recipe, but too salty for me. The consistancy was great and the combination of ingredients was wonderful, but perhaps next time I'll fry my own onions and season myself with pepper and italian blend or something. Thanks for the unique combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My hubby did NOT like at all and to me it had no flavor. It did LOOK like meatloaf but it really came up short in the taste department. I also made it just as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
OMG this tastes so good... It needs to be baked longer than it says to though. Like 70-80 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is certainly an interesting dish. It was okay, and I certainly was impressed by the appearance. My store did not sell creamed cottage cheese, so I used low fat small curd cottage cheese. My husband said he thought it tasted like meatloaf, and my 13 year old daughter said she would not have known is was not meatloaf if I didn't tell her (after she tried it and liked it.) I added two cups of crushed corn flakes, but followed the recipe otherwise. I made a brown gravy to go with it. If you would like this to taste more like your meatloaf I recommend omitting the onion soup mix and adding the seasonings that you would normally use to make your meatloaf. I liked the onion soup mix. You could also add ketchup or BBQ sauce to the top. On a side note I really dislike walnuts but you do not taste the flavor in this. I think the walnuts give it the meatloaf look. I did chop mine very fine. If you feel like trying something different, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Odd ingredients, but surprisingly tasty. I omitted the oil, and used 2 cups of cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great flavor and texture when first prepared. leftovers not so much, will try to fry a slice of leftovers and see if that helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I am only giving this recipe 3 stars because it was way to salty for my taste. I will definitely make this recipe again, but I will probably only use 1/2 the onion soup mix and maybe add 1/2 cup sauteed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I added Kitchen Bouquet Browning & Seasoning Sauce to look more like meat. My husband thinks it's a good substitue for the high sodium corned beef hash he had to give up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was excellent. We were raised vegetarians and this is very similar to our "Family recipe" for "cottage cheese burgers". The only change I made was to add garlic and some red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States