Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I cut this recipe in half, used chopped pecans as I didn't have any walnuts and only used a tsp. of olive oil in place of the vegetable oil. It ended up needing 50 minutes to bake.It was so amazing, I couldn't quit eating it. Next time I'm going to try it with chopped cooked spinach and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I liked the concept of this recipe. I tried it "as is", which is only fair if you're going to write a review, IMO. I do think it needs tweaking (seasoning, some diced fresh veggies, maybe some nutritional yeast) and will be looking over the other reviews for suggestions. In fairness, there is considerable confusion over the amount of cornflakes. Several reviewers said they used from 1/2 to 1 cup of additional cornflakes, and some said they used crushed or even pulverized cornflakes. The measure of cornflakes is going to be vastly different depending on whether you are measuring them loose from the box or pulverized, which reduces them to less than half. Also, the mention of "creamed cottage cheese" threw me (as it seems to have done with others). I since learned that this simply means full 4% fat, or "regular" cottage cheese. Not low-fat or dry curd. I see no need to cut down on the eggs. As is, it only contributes 1/2 an egg per serving. Ditto the oil. On a per serving basis, that's not all that much, and choosing a heart-healthy oil such as sunflower or light olive, and you needn't greatly reduce or eliminate this ingredient as many have done. I didn't think a full envelope of onion soup mix was too salty, but be aware that there is sometimes a big difference in the salt content from brand to brand. The generics tend to have more salt to save manufacturing cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Loved this recipe. I added mushrooms and onions to it. These are the strangest ingredients to put together and I had my doubt about it turning into a "loaf" but it did and was awesome. Not overly "meaty" for all you vegetarians. I made another meatloaf that grossed me out because the consistency too "meaty". I also did have to bake it for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by awebbchic
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I am always on the lookout for vegetarian dinner ideas that are protein packed. I decided to try this one even though I was weary of how it would turn out. I followed the directions exactly except I used low fat cottage cheese. It looked horrible mixed up as I put it in the loaf pan. It smelled great as it was cooking and when pulled out of the oven looked exactly like meatloaf. I did not tell my kids that this wasn't my usual meatloaf recipe. Everyone at the table ate it up and more! They raved about how great it tasted and asked what I had done differently! The meatloaf was moist and there was no one flavor that stood out to over power the overall taste. I am so excited I found this recipe, thanks for sharing KittyAnn! This will be made again and again in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awebbchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I have been a vegetarian for a number of years and usually depend on the Bocca/Morning Star veggie meals. I could not believe the ingredients and was just surprised enough to decide to try it. I cannot thank you enough for this wonderful recipe. I have made it several times and will now keep it on hand as I like it so well. I have some in the freezer now. I know you can add other ingredients, green peppers, bread crumbs, tomato sauce, etc, but it is GREAT just like it is. It deserves 10 stars. Again I thank you for sending this wonderful recipe. Do you have any more good ones?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Wow! What a great surprise this recipe was. My husband, who loves real meatloaf said it was so close to the real deal he could hardly tell. I added chopped onion, garlic and mushrooms. I served this with homemade mushroom gravy, roasted potatoes and steamed broccoli- what an amazing meal. The leftovers make awesome sandwiches too! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Surprisingly good as has been mentioned multiple times. I made it for dinner and then I made it for dessert too by substituting the onion soup mix for some brown sugar and cocoa powder. That was also pretty good. I will use less nuts next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
5 stars for given ingredients. This is cheap, quick, and easy for a family supper. Next time i will add ketchup over top like a traditional meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Yep. Strangest sounding ingredient list ever, but a really simple, versatile, forgiving, and extremely tasty finished product. We loved it. We added more flakes and ground half in the food processor, added some fresh garlic, some dried veggie soup mix in addition to the onion soup mix, some pepper, less oil. I really don't like when people rate a recipe after making a million changes, but in this case, I feel like I am rating it not on the fact that I had to make changes, but on the fact that I could without losing the basic thing that I started with. What flavors to you like to incorporate into your meatloaf? What veggies might you shred into the mix? What broth or soup mix or seasoning do you feel like playing with? Do it. We loved this. Oh, and another reviewer said that it was good with cranberry sauce....we just happened to be making this as a non-meat option to go with a roast turkey. It made a GREAT meatloaf sandwich, heating with a touch of mayo and some cranberry sauce on a nice multigrain dark bread. Man.....if I wasn't so full... UPDATE: We have made this several times now. Decided against the veggie soup mix - added an odd flavor. However, it's great with shredded carrots, other veggies of choice. One time we (by which I mean I) forgot it was in the oven and overcooked it by like a half-hour or more - WHOOPS!! Well, we only liked it more. It's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFowler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was ready in 40 minutes in a 400 degree convection oven and was nicely browned. I added chopped mushrooms and 1 extra cup cornflakes to absorb the mushroom liquid. It was very tasty, but a little salty with the onion soup. In the future, I'd consider using 1/2 the onion soup and/or other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States