Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Wow! My husband could not believe there is no meat in this loaf. Very tasty with a nice meaty texture. I added an extra cup of cornflakes and an extra egg, as others have described. I baked it for an hour, and it turned out perfectly with a nicely browned crunchy crust. Next time I will reduce the oil. I am not sure why that was necessary. I will also try adding other chopped veggies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I love making "meat" entrees, but I was really skeptical about this one. It turned out great though! I didn't have dry onion soup mixed or dried onions so I substituted a couple teaspons of garlic powder, onion powder, 21 seasoning salute and 1 onion instead. I chopped the onion in a food processor, strained it, and then baked it for a few minutes so it wouldn't add excess moisture. Very good recipe- will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was amazing!! I didn't have any walnuts, but it was still deliscious without them. Next time I'll try and use less oil, not that it tasted like there was too much, but just to cut out some fat. I am not a vegetarian, but I'd eat this as a healthy alternative to meatloaf anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Wow! I was unsure of how these ingredients would come together, but I dare say....this was GREAT! I did as some suggested and omitted the oil entirely and increased the corn flakes to 2 1/2 cups. I have only recently, within the last two years, become a vegetarian and I had always loved meatloaf previously. When I saw this recipe it was too tempting to pass up and I am so glad I gave it a go. Whether you are vegetarian or just looking for a good meatless dish during lent, this will surely please. Oh, and leftovers, cold meatloaf sandwiches with a touch of katchup is even better! You can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is very tasty, it's great for lunch on a french loaf with mustard. I could not find creamed cottage cheese so I use small curd instead and it worked just fine. I baked it the full 40 mins, then let it rest for 30 min before removing it from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I love eating meat, but I realise it's not really healthy to eat it every day. So, living alone as I do, I had ruled out meatloaf out of my menus (try do it for any less than 4 portions!). I am quite glad about this recipe. The only things that leave room for improvement in it were my own fault, as my cottage cheese wasn't creamed, and I didn't really crush the walnuts as much as I should have. Also, I used some herb infused oil but won't bother next time, as I couldn't really taste the spices. But the recipe is all in all easy and tasty. Oh, by the way, following other readers advice I used a full cup of cereal for four portions. I'm really looking forward to start tinkering with this recipe. Sun dried tomatoes? Mushrooms? Pepper? Chickpeas? Another type of nuts? Olives? Mmmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCALPENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Neither my husband or I liked this dish. However my two year old daughter really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I love this recipe! It looks just like a paler meatloaf and it tastes like meatloaf, too! I've made it several times, trying all sorts of variations and I loved it every time. I tried it with one less egg, with no oil, with no nuts, with cashews, with a half cup of walnuts, with cooked diced peppers mixed in - all of them delicious. I always made it with at least 2 cups of corn flakes and always with 2% fat cottage cheese. It came out great everytime - never too mushy. I even ate it hot out of the oven and the slices held their shape. I have no idea what could be causing everyone else's problems. I used a glass loaf pan and cook it for an hour. I definately recommend the two cups of corn flakes and leaving out the oil. Three eggs works just fine and if you love nuts, don't leave them out. They sound odd but it really works. I loved it with yellow bell peppers mixed in. I'm going to try green peppers, carrots, onions, and mushrooms - not all at once. Give this recipe a shot, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I hate doing this; i was so hopeful about this recipe, but it really fell short. the onion taste is overwhelming. even with an extra cup of cereal and 1/3c. italian breadcrumbs, i thought it was way too... pudding like even after 1 hour + in the oven. just not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I was intrigued by this recipe when I came across it due to the novelty factor, and decided I had to try it at least once. I read a number of the reviews and followed some of the modifications -- extra cup of cornflakes, one less egg, a bit less walnuts, addition of garlic and onion powder, baking time of 50 minutes. My boyfriend and I had the result for lunch tonight, and we were both amazed by how meatloaf-like and fairly tasty it was. Next time I will try making my own onion soup mix, however, because the one I bought had a bunch of artificial ingredients and left a weird aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States