Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is one of those recipes that you gather your family or your favorite friend around to help you make so they too can share in the laughs because afterall, it is by far one of the weirdest recipes anyone's yet to see and you just know that nothing good could come of it but it'll sure be a lot of fun concocting the mess and watching it self destruct somewhere along the way. Well, mixing it up was a real riot--I think my husband and I near cracked a rib from laughing so hard at the mess that was in the bowl...it brought back memories of praying to the porcelain god for sure....:o) Then we popped in in the oven--and the most amazing thing happened--it actually came out looking like a loaf and it was pretty freakin' tasty--so much so that my carnivore hubby actually took a few slices for lunch one day. Who knew? I followed the recipe exactly as stated--I'm not sure why there's so much oil in the recipe but one could easily use less than half of what's called for. Once you make this loaf--you will quickly start imaginng all the things you could do to it--like swapping out the onion soup mix for something else, added veggies and other seasonings etc. This recipe is pretty neat and a lot of fun. I would recommend it to any skeptic. The ONLY THING IS THAT I HAD TO BAKE IT LONGER--ABOUT AN HOUR UNTIL IT WAS FIRM IN THE MIDDLE...I checked it at 45 mins and it was still jiggly when I shook the pan so I put it back in there for awhile longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GG
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Tastes like meatloaf! Made this yesterday and it was inedible. The mods were key: 2.5 cups cornflakes, fat free cottage cheese, chopped onion instead of soup mix, put nuts through food processor. After the mods the next day my boyfriend ate several slices with ketchup. Better if cooked longer or if cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
How the heck can this concoction be so darn good? My husband really liked this one. He was surprised at how much it resembled meatloaf - especially after I told him the ingredients. After reading reviews, I used 2 1/2 cups of cornflakes. I also cooked the roast for 65 minutes, then let it sit for 30 more minutes before serving. I don't think I'd change anything else, except perhaps I might chop up a little bit of veggies to go in it - like red pepper. Neither of us thought it was too salty. That onion soup flavor did stay with me throughout the evening, though. Oh, yeah, even my 2 year old liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodbine, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I've made this recipe several times, and I absolutely LOVE it! I think it's even better the next day, cold on a sandwich with lots of mustard. I've always followed the recipe exactly (except I let it bake for a while longer to firm up a little more) but I think I might take a couple other suggestions by reducing the oil and adding more cereal (I use bran flakes.) The roast is a bit mushy when hot, but I think this addition would make it better. Great recipe for a vegetarian diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Excellent recipe. Great vegetarian substitute for meatloaf night. I substitute wheaties for the cornflakes to make the recipe whole grain. The flavor is incredible, even with 50% less sodium onion soup mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Wow! My husband could not believe there is no meat in this loaf. Very tasty with a nice meaty texture. I added an extra cup of cornflakes and an extra egg, as others have described. I baked it for an hour, and it turned out perfectly with a nicely browned crunchy crust. Next time I will reduce the oil. I am not sure why that was necessary. I will also try adding other chopped veggies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I love making "meat" entrees, but I was really skeptical about this one. It turned out great though! I didn't have dry onion soup mixed or dried onions so I substituted a couple teaspons of garlic powder, onion powder, 21 seasoning salute and 1 onion instead. I chopped the onion in a food processor, strained it, and then baked it for a few minutes so it wouldn't add excess moisture. Very good recipe- will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was amazing!! I didn't have any walnuts, but it was still deliscious without them. Next time I'll try and use less oil, not that it tasted like there was too much, but just to cut out some fat. I am not a vegetarian, but I'd eat this as a healthy alternative to meatloaf anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Wow! I was unsure of how these ingredients would come together, but I dare say....this was GREAT! I did as some suggested and omitted the oil entirely and increased the corn flakes to 2 1/2 cups. I have only recently, within the last two years, become a vegetarian and I had always loved meatloaf previously. When I saw this recipe it was too tempting to pass up and I am so glad I gave it a go. Whether you are vegetarian or just looking for a good meatless dish during lent, this will surely please. Oh, and leftovers, cold meatloaf sandwiches with a touch of katchup is even better! You can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is very tasty, it's great for lunch on a french loaf with mustard. I could not find creamed cottage cheese so I use small curd instead and it worked just fine. I baked it the full 40 mins, then let it rest for 30 min before removing it from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States