Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
It wasn't the greatest, I will try it again maybe with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I looked for a vegetarian recipe and found this one. However, I have not yet found a vegetarian cottage cheese (cottage cheese may contain gelatin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Awesome! Tastes great and has great texture. Followed recipe exactly. Cooked for 65 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Brilliant! What a nice surprise. I agree that this is even better cold, the next day. Really tastes like meat loaf. I would definitely recommend letting this "sit" for a good 30 minutes after it comes out of the oven. I plan to experiment with substitutes for the onion soup mix, as I find it has a distinctive taste that's too salty MSG-infused for me--although that could be the brand I used. Don't want to give up the convenience of the super-fast prep, though. I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I loved this! Easy to make and yummy. My husband wasn't so impressed but that is just his loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deiders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is one of those recipes that you gather your family or your favorite friend around to help you make so they too can share in the laughs because afterall, it is by far one of the weirdest recipes anyone's yet to see and you just know that nothing good could come of it but it'll sure be a lot of fun concocting the mess and watching it self destruct somewhere along the way. Well, mixing it up was a real riot--I think my husband and I near cracked a rib from laughing so hard at the mess that was in the bowl...it brought back memories of praying to the porcelain god for sure....:o) Then we popped in in the oven--and the most amazing thing happened--it actually came out looking like a loaf and it was pretty freakin' tasty--so much so that my carnivore hubby actually took a few slices for lunch one day. Who knew? I followed the recipe exactly as stated--I'm not sure why there's so much oil in the recipe but one could easily use less than half of what's called for. Once you make this loaf--you will quickly start imaginng all the things you could do to it--like swapping out the onion soup mix for something else, added veggies and other seasonings etc. This recipe is pretty neat and a lot of fun. I would recommend it to any skeptic. The ONLY THING IS THAT I HAD TO BAKE IT LONGER--ABOUT AN HOUR UNTIL IT WAS FIRM IN THE MIDDLE...I checked it at 45 mins and it was still jiggly when I shook the pan so I put it back in there for awhile longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GG
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Tastes like meatloaf! Made this yesterday and it was inedible. The mods were key: 2.5 cups cornflakes, fat free cottage cheese, chopped onion instead of soup mix, put nuts through food processor. After the mods the next day my boyfriend ate several slices with ketchup. Better if cooked longer or if cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
How the heck can this concoction be so darn good? My husband really liked this one. He was surprised at how much it resembled meatloaf - especially after I told him the ingredients. After reading reviews, I used 2 1/2 cups of cornflakes. I also cooked the roast for 65 minutes, then let it sit for 30 more minutes before serving. I don't think I'd change anything else, except perhaps I might chop up a little bit of veggies to go in it - like red pepper. Neither of us thought it was too salty. That onion soup flavor did stay with me throughout the evening, though. Oh, yeah, even my 2 year old liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodbine, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I've made this recipe several times, and I absolutely LOVE it! I think it's even better the next day, cold on a sandwich with lots of mustard. I've always followed the recipe exactly (except I let it bake for a while longer to firm up a little more) but I think I might take a couple other suggestions by reducing the oil and adding more cereal (I use bran flakes.) The roast is a bit mushy when hot, but I think this addition would make it better. Great recipe for a vegetarian diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Excellent recipe. Great vegetarian substitute for meatloaf night. I substitute wheaties for the cornflakes to make the recipe whole grain. The flavor is incredible, even with 50% less sodium onion soup mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States