Cottage Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This recipe is very similar to one by Paula Deen on the Food Network. I sliced up my potatos and boiled them for a quicker cooking time and easier mashing. Used fat free cottage cheese and ommited the sour cream. Added a few pats of butter and folded in a sauteed chopped onion for rich flavor. Topped the mixture with Mexican cheese blend, salt and pepper. Baked in a 9 x 12 dish. I was terrified of failure when I scooped them out and they were runny (!) however they did set up nicely after sitting for a bit while my meatloaf rested. I suggest draining the cottage cheese. A good recipe when you want something tasty that will not be covered in gravy, but I am still searching for my all-time favorite potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This was a great recipe that wowed my wife when she arrived home from work.I did find that you might need to drain the cottage cheese over the sink before continuing.I added a little bit of garlic powder and some salt and pepper to liven it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GTHANG29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
This was really excellent. If you use fresh or frozen raw hashbrown cut potatoes you don't have to cook them first. Definitely salt and pepper the potatoes before adding the other ingredients. I used full-fat cottage cheese and then low fat cheddar and sour cream and it came out great. To avoid runniness: take the cottage cheese and the sour cream and blend in the blender till smooth. Line a colander with cheesecloth and put in a bowl. Turn the cheese mixture in and let it drain for a couple of hours before continuing on with the recipe. I also threw in some cheddar with the cottage cheese and sour cream. Comes out really great that way. Thank you, Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This is a great recipe. The trick is to be sure you cook it long enough, and it will not be runny. I added 1/2 cup chopped chives to the cottage cheese and omitted the onion. I added 1/4 cup Parmesan and salt and pepper. Terrific. Also, I measured my potatoes. There was approximately 3 cups after cubing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
A great way to serve potatoes. My family loved it. I used fat-free sour cream and cottage cheese and added extra cheddar--it turned out well. You have to be sure to leave the dish UNCOVERED while baking, or the sauce will be too thin. Let it stand for 5-10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I think that this recipe turned out wonderful. I didn't have the cottage cheese with chives or any chives on hand , so I substituted dried parsley, and added about 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. Thanks Stephanie!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Well I couldn't find chive-flavored cottage cheese so I added snipped fresh chives to the regular stuff. With the addition of a little salt and pepper, this was so delicious. Husband wasn't impressed but then he doesn't much care for mashed potatoes anyway. Thanks, Stephanie. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I did my own thing after reading this recipe. I grated the potatoes and tossed them with salt, pepper and cottage cheese. I put it in a baking dish, topped it with shredded cheddar cheese and baked at 350 for 40-45 mins. I think it would be good mixing the cheddar cheese in before baking. Anyway, it made a sort-of half mashed potato/half hashbrown kind of thing. It's fun to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Very tasty! I loved the consistancy. It was a little runny right out of the oven, but set up nicely as it cooled down. Did add salt, pepper, parsley, and garlic to give it a little flavor since I couldn't find chive-flavored cottage cheese. I think next time I will add more cheddar too, just to make it cheesier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I found this recipe while trying to find a mashed potato recipe which substituted milk, since I was out. I doubled the recipe and didn't use the oven at all. I boiled the potatoes quartered and drained when soft. I put them back in the pot to mix and mash with 1.5 lbs of fat free sour cream, 2 lbs of nonfat cottage cheese, 1/2 an onion and 3 oz of bacon flavored chips, and salt and pepper to taste. I topped the serving with Mexican blend shredded cheese and melted on top in microwave. My daughter loves it and I love that it's lower in fat and calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Wendalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States