Cottage Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This recipe is very similar to one by Paula Deen on the Food Network. I sliced up my potatos and boiled them for a quicker cooking time and easier mashing. Used fat free cottage cheese and ommited the sour cream. Added a few pats of butter and folded in a sauteed chopped onion for rich flavor. Topped the mixture with Mexican cheese blend, salt and pepper. Baked in a 9 x 12 dish. I was terrified of failure when I scooped them out and they were runny (!) however they did set up nicely after sitting for a bit while my meatloaf rested. I suggest draining the cottage cheese. A good recipe when you want something tasty that will not be covered in gravy, but I am still searching for my all-time favorite potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Well, I would of given it a 3 (it was edible, just way too bland even after I doctored it up), but when DH said "put this on your don't make again list" I had to go with a 2. Sorry, just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Very nice potato dish. I needed to use up some ricotta so subbed that for the cottage cheese. I grated the onion for more flavor. Made just the right amount for the two of us with leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I served this at a bridal shower, and several people said they liked it. However, this dish didn't really impress me - it was a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Well I couldn't find chive-flavored cottage cheese so I added snipped fresh chives to the regular stuff. With the addition of a little salt and pepper, this was so delicious. Husband wasn't impressed but then he doesn't much care for mashed potatoes anyway. Thanks, Stephanie. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This is a great recipe. The trick is to be sure you cook it long enough, and it will not be runny. I added 1/2 cup chopped chives to the cottage cheese and omitted the onion. I added 1/4 cup Parmesan and salt and pepper. Terrific. Also, I measured my potatoes. There was approximately 3 cups after cubing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Very tasty! I loved the consistancy. It was a little runny right out of the oven, but set up nicely as it cooled down. Did add salt, pepper, parsley, and garlic to give it a little flavor since I couldn't find chive-flavored cottage cheese. I think next time I will add more cheddar too, just to make it cheesier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I goofed on this and mashed the potatoes before adding ingredients, and it was good - didn't think my husband would like it at all, but he raved about it! Will have to try it with cubed potatoes next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
LOVED THIS RECIPE! Next time I think I will add cornflakes or Special K on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
We made the leftovers into potato pancakes...WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States