Cottage Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Good easy recipe. I had cottage cheese and sour cream in my fridge to use up and when i searched online for a recipe that used both this recipe came up! Many of the reviews I have read mashed the potatoes but i left them in the cubed form - I think this looks more appealing when finished and seems less runny. Certainly draining cottage cheese helps. I also turned the grill/broiler on for the final few minutes to give the top a lovely browned finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The potatos were okay, but I did add extra sharp shredded cheddar cheese and salt/pepper and it still needed more flavor. I cubed and boiled the potatos, but I guess I didn't boil them long enough because I ended up having to bake the potatos for 1 hr 15 min. I am giving this four stars because the potatos were much better the next day being reheated. If I make this again, I will add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this for my in-laws for our Christmas dinner. Everyone really liked it. I doubled the recipe and made these adjustments: 5lb bag of red skin potatoes ( leaving the skins on) 1 Container chive cottage cheese 16 oz light sour cream 10 green onions 16 oz shredded cheddar cheese 1/4 cup real bacon pieces It turned out with a great consistancy, but bairly fit in my 9 x 13" cake pan. The left overs are especially good with ranch powder mixed in. I would rate it 5 stars next time if I added 2-3 tablespoons ranch powder. It really adds a lot! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I located this recipe using the "ingredients" tab since I was low on everything. I skipped the sour cream since I didnt have any and since it appeared it made the dish too thin. I quartered some cherry tomatoes and used onion powder instead of onions. I sprinkled some Bac-os on top and the end & turned on the broiler. It was a little thin but as another reviewer suggested, I let it stand. My dad, who hates my cooking, asked for some to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These tasted OK, but definitely lacked something flavor-wise. Also, I didn't care for the raw onion flavor. Maybe if I had sauteed the onions first as one previous reviewer suggested it would have tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
We made this recipe last night with a few variations. It was great. Instead of boiling the potatoes, I took red potatoes (instead of 5 I used 6 very large potatoes) and microwaved them-we cut them up with the skins on. Quick and less mess. I did not have chive cottage cheese so I used regular--omitted the onion--added some garlic salt, and pepper to taste--and 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese. It was not at all runny, was plenty yummy, and the family went nuts on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I did my own thing after reading this recipe. I grated the potatoes and tossed them with salt, pepper and cottage cheese. I put it in a baking dish, topped it with shredded cheddar cheese and baked at 350 for 40-45 mins. I think it would be good mixing the cheddar cheese in before baking. Anyway, it made a sort-of half mashed potato/half hashbrown kind of thing. It's fun to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I fixed this for Easter dinner and was disappointed. My guests all loved it, but for me it seemed to not have much flavor. I'll stick to my old cheesy potato recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
it was ok. I added some garlic powder to it, for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This recipe is very similar to one by Paula Deen on the Food Network. I sliced up my potatos and boiled them for a quicker cooking time and easier mashing. Used fat free cottage cheese and ommited the sour cream. Added a few pats of butter and folded in a sauteed chopped onion for rich flavor. Topped the mixture with Mexican cheese blend, salt and pepper. Baked in a 9 x 12 dish. I was terrified of failure when I scooped them out and they were runny (!) however they did set up nicely after sitting for a bit while my meatloaf rested. I suggest draining the cottage cheese. A good recipe when you want something tasty that will not be covered in gravy, but I am still searching for my all-time favorite potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States