Cottage Cheese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I make pancakes with Cottage Cheese whenever I make them. I do add a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg or a bit of citrus to the recipe. If you add the cottage cheese, you don't "crash" so hard later in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These were great! Quick and easy. I used whole wheat flour and a tablespoon of applesauce instead of oil. The only problem is that "1 serving" is more like "1/2 a serving".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
These were very good, though I would definitely double the recipe. I used wheat flour instead of white and it was still quite good. Like some other reviewers, I added cinnamon and smoothed the cottage cheese beforehand. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is my new favorite recipe! Soooooo delicious! I will make these pancakes over and over again. My husband and I are training for a marathon (and trying to shed a few pounds) so I'm always looking for high-protein, low-fat, lower-carb meal ideas (not easy to find!). I made some changes to significantly reduce the fat content: I used 1% cottage cheese, 1/2c egg whites instead of 3 whole eggs, and only 1T of oil. I think next time I will try omitting the oil altogether. I also added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of baking powder, and 1/2 tsp of vanilla (as suggested by some other reviewers), plus one package of artificial sweetener (could use 2 tsp of sugar instead of artificial sweetener). I also mashed up the cottage cheese a bit with a fork before mixing everything together. These were yummy enough to eat plain but I topped mine with raspberry jam. With all of my substitutions, this ENTIRE recipe contains about 515 calories, 51g protein (woot! woot!), and 13g fat. This recipe makes enough for two people or one really hungry person. By the way, I registered for allrecipes.com just so I could write a review on this recipe! Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very very good! My husband loves cottage cheese and I do not! But we both really liked these! I did add some vanilla to the batter. Served with fresh strawberries and pure maple syrup on top. So yummy. Between the two of us we finished he whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharveycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very tasty! greaty recipe that went well with fussy 2 year old, and husband who hates cottage cheese. Managed to fool both of them. Will be a permanent favourite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These were a little bizzare- parts of the cottage cheese melted, and they took longer to cook than regular pancakes. Anyway, these are an acquired taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StunnaShades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My family loves these pancakes. I use 1/2 cup of flour, and instead of oil, 4 Tbsp. of melted butter. I also use 4 eggs, not 3. I drop by large mixing spoonfuls onto the hot griddle, the kids like the smaller size. I have to double or triple this recipe - the leftovers taste just as good reheated the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe is quite good. The cheese taste doesn't really come through, it instead adds more of a general moistness. Be sure to at least make 50% more of the recipe at a time -- this will still result in only 8 pancakes! Also, we double the amount of flour. This could easily become our new go-to pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I doubled the recipe, but like another reviewer stated I added 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour, 1 tsp of baking powder, and 1 tsp of vanilla. I also decided to make these healthier by subbing 1 tsp of oil for flax seed. The texture of these was similar to eggy french toast, so I added cinnamon on top and it was pretty good for being healthy. I froze a batch to have on hand for when I am craving something with syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States