Cottage Cheese Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My family( from Lithuania) boil these dumplings in lightly salted water instead of milk. Then when cooked and drained, we pour melted butter and a bit of pepper on them. Yummy. They can also be filled with a minced meat and onion mixture, boiled and then served with a bacon and cream sauce. Double yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My grandmother (from Vilnius, Lithuania) made these all the time.....called Peedagaechee (phonetic spelling). Slight variation......she mixed the cheese (she used farm cheese) with an egg, some salt and lots of black pepper. After making the dumplings she dropped them into boiling water and removed them with a slotted spoon once they floated. Place in a casserole dish and dollop with a little butter so they don't stick together. Keep warm. Sauté 1/4 to 1/2 lb of salt pork, sliced very thin, until crisp....set aside. If there is a lot of grease in the pan drain some off, reserving about 1 - 2 T. Add at least 1 cup of sour cream to the drippings and heat thoroughly while scraping the pan. Add reserved salt pork and pour over dumplings. A great side dish in places of potatoes....and wonderful for breakfast! Truly, in a pinch you can use frozen cheese ravioli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These are great but much better when you bake them till golden brown instead of fry. Then instead of evaporated milk i used whipping cream and add dill to the cream, bring whipping cream and dill to a boil then add to dumplings and bake for an hour instead of simmer on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Definitely needs modification. Prepared like this, they are flavorless and the texture is awful. Perhaps would be better with mods, but I will not make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These were on the messy side, but good when all through. I used a little bit of heavy whipping cream to make the sauce a little thicker. I will try them again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Very good recipe. I modified it a bit. I flavored the cottage cheese with garlic powder, salt, pepper, and italian seasoning. Instead of simmering in milk, I made a white sauce from butter, flour, milk, curry powder, saffron, salt and pepper...Yum! I found that simmering the dumplings in the sauce for 20 minutes more than sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
...........What is this ? I just made these.. But I don`t still get it....I don`t care messy in the kitchen. But it need at least more specific detail. Like...how thin gonna be doe. something like that...Taste like a almost Flour !! Need something tasty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I had this recipe as a child, it is absolutely wonderful, I already exchanged it with a childhood friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Jodi! This is a KILLER recipe! Absolutely delicious and easy to do! I plan to make these very often, and during berry season, I will add a little sugar to the cheese and some blueberries! Yowza! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I'm sure this could turn out well, but I made this when I was first beginning to cook. I had big problems keeping the stuff inside. It tasted pretty good, but it was also really messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States