Cottage Cheese Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
We love these cookies, although I've never included the confectioner's sugar. Unfortunately, when I was copying the recipe into my recipe book, I inadvertently omitted one of the ingredients. I'm so thankful I came across it here. Hallelujah! I can now start making them again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Roark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Almost like mini brownies. They remind me of Chocolate Crackles, but soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I also altered the original recipe. I did not have any pecans so I substituted walnuts, butterscotch chips and choc. chips using more then the 1 cup total required for pecans. (About 1/2 cup to 2/3 cup of each. I did not roll them into balls, I used my cookie scoop I did not flatten them I left them as balls but no powdered sugar. They family liked them but it's not a love thus the 4 stars and not the 5. Dough is very hard to mix so the 20 min prep was longer for me since I had to do the mixing by hand. My hand mixer would not work in the thick dough. If you have the stand mixer and dough hooks it may take the 20 minute prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Not very sweet but excellent with coffee. Adults raved over these. I omitted the pecans but I'm thinking maybe adding raisins the next time. You really have to mix the batter good, and you will know because it will have a very moist dark chocolate look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was a hard one to rate. At first it seemed pretty tasteless when warm and I would have given them a 3 stars but I am thankful I put them in the fridge for the night because they are much better cold. Texture was a little off for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I've been reading the reviews for this and I don't understand why most people don't like how they turn out. I've been making these for close to 20 years, they are a family favorite and everybody else that tries them asks for the recipe. As for flattening them out, they are supposed to be cake like in the way they rise. And when it comes to rolling them in powdered sugar, you need to make sure there is a deep enough dish of it to coat them really good. It doesn't soak into the cookies then. I just made a double of these this last weekend and shared them with all my friends in my apartment building and they wanted more. I'm sorry some of you didn't like them. One other thing, since I don't like nuts and my daughter-in-law- is allergic to them, I never add them. The cottage cheese in them feels like a soft nut anyway once they are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I give five stars to my modified version. I doubled the amount of cocoa powder and the chocolateness was perfect. I was out of vanilla and used a 1/4 tsp of almond extract instead. Also, I added about 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper, which gave them just a touch of spice...reminded me of a red hot. Because the recipe made so many cookies I cut the recipe to a quarter. I recommend flattening the dough balls on the pan, as they did not spread at all once cooked. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. These were very very moist and tasted just like a brownie. I found the powdered sugar step to be pointless, as the sugar gets absorbed into the dough and makes the cookies look grey. Next time I'll dust with powdered sugar after removing from oven. Good use for extra cottage cheese. Oh yeah, I used low-fat and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Made em once. They were okay. Everyone ate them and enjoyed them for the moment. It might have just been us because the ingredients make me think this is a really awesome cookie just looking for the right home to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Great receipe for leftover cottage cheese. Tastes like chocolate cake. I made a 1/2 recipe and added 1 cup mini chocolate chips (equal amount to pecans). This was a huge improvement on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Very good!! Almost browney like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States