Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was so very tasty! I added 2 TBSP of cumin along with low sodium taco seasoning to shredded chicken. I only used 1 cup of 2% Mexican Cheese on the top of the enchilada sauce just to lighten it a bit. I used low fat cottage cheese and low fat sour cream and low carb tortillas -- My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I've done this recipe dozens of times with multiple variations. It's the best basic enchilada recipe I've ever found to modify to everyone's taste. I don't quite understand the negative reviews that say it wasn't good at all, or that it was only good when people added their own variations. Every home made recipe should be tailor made for your taste. Substitute anything with whatever you like. That's what cooking is all about. If it was completely uniformly perfect for everyone, it would come as a pre-made product that you'd buy in a store and would be sold out because everyone ate it ALL THE TIME. It would be as popular as water. I've never gone wrong with any variation of this recipe, and the creamy cottage cheese and sour cream balances well with the spiciness of this dish, but you have to balance this with what you like. I use rotisserie chicken from costco, and make two big casseroles or more. One with dark meat, and one with white, and I change what I want with what I have or what I have a taste for. Enchiladas are generally totally customized. If you don't like half the ingredients, you probably won't like the recipe. Cooking from scratch is common sense folks! I occasionally follow a recipe verbatim, but I always modify it every time after. Don't knock it till you try it, then try it the way you know you will like it. If you still don't like it, stop eating food. And please post your non-food recipes here so we can all stop eating food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I absolutely love this recipes.. I also add a little ricotta cheese and hot sauce in the cottage cheese mixture and I use hot enchilada sauce and they are the best spicy chicken enchiladas.. I make a big pan every time and its never wasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I'm keeping this at 3 stars because I made a lot of changes to it, but I do have to say after I messed with the recipe the product was delicious! First off, I like my chicken to be very flavorful, so I found a recipe on here for taco seasoning and doubled it, ended up using about 1.5 oz rather than the 1 oz. taco seasoning packet. You likely have all of the ingredients for taco seasoning in your cupboard already. Secondly, I wanted this to be really healthy so I substitute 0% greek yogurt for the sour cream, can't taste a difference IMHO. Third I'm way too lazy to roll enchiladas, and so I always layer this like lasagne in a 9x13 dish - tortillas, meat mixture, cheese mixture, enchilada sauce etc, be sure to put some enchilada sauce on the bottom and cheese on top. Finally if you feel like you want to add some vegetables to make this more of a meal, add black beans and corn in with the meat mixture, it's really great that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corunna, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Totally delicious- I added black olives to the meat mixture. I also used light cottage cheese and sour creem. Very simple and healthier than the average enchilada recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this with ground chicken. It was quick and tasty but not anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very easy and tasty. I used canned chicken breasts from COSTCO and followed another reviewers suggestion of putting a bit of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and moistening the tortilla with the enchilada sauce before filling. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Would probably be terrific without these tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wow, these were very good!! Only change made was only adding 4oz of the diced green chiles, will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
My family members aren't big on Mexican food, but I decided to try this recipe anyway since I'm a huge fan. The enchiladas turned out great and they were, surprisingly, a huge hit in the household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,018) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States