Cottage Cheese, Avocado, and Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
oh wow! what a genius way to incorporate such healthy things!!!! I looked at it and im not gonna lie, i was skeptical. but then again i was skeptical about everything with cottage cheese including omelettes and those were delicious. so i decided to try this (just mashed avacado, heated frozen corns, and quickly stir fried black beans with onions and some cumin with some garlic and pepper and mixed cottage cheese with it all with some salsa...turned out to be great!!!) It was a great snack entree! However, just not appealing to the eye but i felt at peace knowing i got my omega-3, protein, calcium, vit c etc :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I'm not sure what all the fuss is about. I made it nearly as written (I only had 24 oz cottage cheese), and it was bland...can't imagine it with another 8 oz! This shouldn't surprise me because the salsa is the only real thing with flavor. So I added 1 tsp of chili powder, 1 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of cayenne for some flavor and probably could have added more. Now it's probably 4 star. I'll keep playing around with the spices to make it 5 stars because I love the concept and the nutritional value of the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very yummy, healthy salsa! The only thing that I did differently was add some lemon juice (to prevent the avocados from turning) and a handful of fresh cilantro .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kirch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Quick and awesome. I added some hot sauce because my salsa was just "mild". Very healthy alternatives to putting mayo. Next time I will two two avocados just because my family is a huge avocado fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I just had this for lunch, used low-fat cottage cheese, my homemade salsa, black beans and an avocado. Left out the corn and extra tomatoes. Was a great healthy lunch because I used a spoon...no chips...doesn't look so great. Very filling. Thanks Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Yum! I cut the amounts back based on what I had available, left out the beans, used homemade salsa and a little salt and pepper to taste. I had some mexi-corn leftover and that worked great in place of the cob of corn. I think this recipe has a lot of wiggle room and it's very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msolbe
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by crystalillium
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was surprisingly good. I will admit, it does not look all that appetizing, but it was definitely delish! I added a few things: * lime juice * olive oil & vinegar dressing (splash) * Freshly thinly sliced serrano peppers I like it with a bit of a bite. Served with tortilla chips. In the future, I may add to the recipe some refried beans to make it more of a thicker dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalillium
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Great Stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Perfect! Just what I was looking for. I omitted the corn and added a little garlic powder and sea salt and threw it all together without cooking anything. Just ate it out of a bowl without chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States