Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Best beignets I've ever made. Very light, yet crispy on the outside. I fried half the dough the first day and sprinkled powdered sugar on them. Then I put the leftover dough in a ziplock bag in the frig. The next day, I let the dough come to room temperature and fried them, using as a dipper for fondue. I'll be using this as my go to recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
These are sooo good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
A great tool for turning them in the oil is a pair of chopsticks or bamboo skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neeter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: State Line, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this for my family. Light and delicious. Everyone loved it. It's real easy to 6 or 8 pieces without thinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made a butter substitute on shortening. Also, I fried these beignets on canola oil. Make it thin if you want a bit of crunch from the outside. It's not exactly the same as Cafe Du Monde's beignets which is what I expected. I'm hesitant to use cottonseed oil because of it's high saturated fat content. Nevertheless, my hubby and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
not good, very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a really good recipe. I only have two tips: 1) I added 1 tsp. almond extract to the recipe to give it that little something it is missing (you can't taste the almond in the finished product) and 2) I suggest you use cottonseed oil as first choice, and the either sunflower oil, safflower oil or peanut oil as other choices. Cafe DuMonde uses cottonseed oil. I've been working on perfecting beginets for a while now and tweaking these things makes them nearly perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The beignets turned out fluffy and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautifully! Served them Christmas morning and my husband said he liked mine BETTER than the ones at Cafe du Monde! These are going to be an annual tradition in our family for Christmas from now on. The recipe as written makes a LOT of dough- I divided it into four balls and froze three and baked one into the beignets. The next week I thawed another ball of dough and rolled it out and made more beignets and they were as good as the first ones! The dough freezes beautifully. Just thaw for a few hours at room temperature in the plastic bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Baker Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States