Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Taste is 5 star but am giving this 3 Stars because of the misinformation when it comes to the ingredient amounts. I made this as directed except for using just 1 cup of elbow macaroni. Makes a lot so I sent some to neighbors. When I took mine out to serve the next day I couldn't believe it. There was NO broth left. The macaroni had absorbed it ALL and I didn't even use the full amount of macaroni. I called my neighbors and they said they enjoyed the STEW - too late to send them over a can or two more of broth to add to it. This soup needs a minimum of 24oz. more of liquid - I would use vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grifo
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Recipe was very easy to make and it makes ALOT! I would recomend to cut your vegetable into small pieces especially the carrots and potatoes. As for the rest I doubled the broth and cut 1/2 cup of the pasta out, even this did not work as previously recomended I would go with 1/2 the pasta (and most importantly pre-cook it) I love the pasta in minestrone and it was too much for me! As for the cooking instead of slow simmering I brought the soup up to a boil reduced to a simmer and covered and it cut about 10 minutes off of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
GREAT START, BUT...needed some adjustments to get to 5 Stars. Here is how I got to 5 Stars: Added 1/2 bag frozen chopped spinach, 1 can petite diced Italian tomatoes, 1 can pesto tomatoes paste (Contadina brand), 1/2 the recommended amount of dried spices, 5 cloves garlic, nixed the pasta, only 2 potatoes, 4 carrots 3 whole celery stalks (leaves and all!), 1 zucchini, 2 small yellow squash, 1 quart vegetable stock and 1 can chicken broth (no water!) 1 more can of regular tomatoe paste will likely make it 6 stars...NEXT TIME!!! Thanks for the recipe! PSST...don't forget the sprinkle of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I'm rewriting this review because I made the minestrone again and it is SOGOOD! Last time I made it, the liquid disappeared within an hour or two of taking the pot off of the stove. I mean it was totally gone--like a casserole or something. So here's what I changed this time: I used 3 potatoes, 3 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, one quite-small onion, 4 cloves garlic, 16 oz of veggie broth, 1-1/4 cups macaroni, and dried herbs instead of fresh (same quantities). All the other ingredients were the same. I heated the olive oil and cooked the onion and garlic for maybe 5 minutes, then added the rest of the chopped veggies and let them cook together for a few minutes. I think it tastes better that way. I had to cook longer than 30 minutes, and the macaroni took longer than 10 minutes as well. There isn't a lot of liquid but it's much better than last time. If it disappears again I'll add more veggie broth. Using smaller quantities of vegetables makes a much more manageable-sized soup and I don't think we'll have to throw any away this time. It also tastes better when there's more liquid. With these modifications, I really love this recipe! Thanks Corrigan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
WOW! such an easy, and tasty soup... my 1 year old and I just had it for luch!!! It was a big hit. I had to add extra broth, I also added some parsley and a chopped up zucchini, I'm sure you could add just about any veg.,..maybe corn next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
When I worked at Olive Garden, we cooked the pasta seperately. Then , add just before serving. Boil the pasta, drain and toss with veggie oil. Toss into soup right before serving. If you plan to store some for later, divide it before adding pasta or simply add a 1/4 cup or so of cooked pasta to each bowl before ladeling soup over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Hot Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Easy make ahead family dinner or cold weather party starter. Cook pasta separately. Place pasta in individual serving bowl & add the soup on top. Cooked and drained pasta will keep in a plastic bag in the frig for several days. Personal preferences include less onion & garlic (especially when freezing), chopped spinach, finely shredded cabbage, diced tomatoes, V8 juice and any veggie I have in the frig. Keeping the pasta separate also makes the recipe crockpot & freezer friendly for those rushed days. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Warning: Makes a lot yet can be easily frozen for leftovers. This stuff was GOOD, and really easy to make for a weeknight. The most time consuming part is chopping the vegetables, and while the soup cooks, stir every so often. I didn't have veggie broth so I used a can of chicken broth instead, also added in a can of chick peas. Very yummy, will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Very good - husband loved it :) Only change I made was adding the fresh herbs at the end with the macaroni. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was a huge hit at a church supper last night. I needed a hearty vegetarian soup and this fit the bill. We doubled the recipe and had enough for about 23 people plus some extra. Everyone is asking for the recipe. I made a couple of small changes, but it would've been good without them too. I just added some chopped zucchini, used dry herbs since I didn't have fresh, and used small shells instead of macaroni for the pasta.It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States