Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I like this recipe. I followed what other suggested though and used half the veggies and I also added have a box of frozen spinach. I over baked the noodles though so they're soggy but the soup itself is good. Will make again but definately reduce the amount to half liquide and quarter of the veggies. This is how I made it though cause it seemed to be missing directions. I put the oil in a large pan and added the veggies to them on medium heat and cooked them for a few minutes to soften them up a little. I also simmered everything together for approx and hour then added the noodles and cook until noodles are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Yummy yummy! I added more salt - of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
not a bad soup but didn't have the zing of a good minestrone. something's missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This recipe was amazing. The only change I made last time I made it was I used northern beans instead of kidney beans (forgot to get the beans at the store so I used what I had). I also made the macaroni on the side and then added it when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was a very good recipe, but I did make a few changes. I added zucchini, 1 can green beans (with juice) and garbanzo beans. I'll tweak it again next time by adding more spices as I thought it was a bit bland. My husband loved it and went back for seconds so that was a good sign! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Made this for dinner with family last night. This was pretty good. Ended up using vegetable boulion cubes instead of broth and added a large bag of frozen mixed veggies. There was so much soup! Will play with herbs for better flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
GREAT START, BUT...needed some adjustments to get to 5 Stars. Here is how I got to 5 Stars: Added 1/2 bag frozen chopped spinach, 1 can petite diced Italian tomatoes, 1 can pesto tomatoes paste (Contadina brand), 1/2 the recommended amount of dried spices, 5 cloves garlic, nixed the pasta, only 2 potatoes, 4 carrots 3 whole celery stalks (leaves and all!), 1 zucchini, 2 small yellow squash, 1 quart vegetable stock and 1 can chicken broth (no water!) 1 more can of regular tomatoe paste will likely make it 6 stars...NEXT TIME!!! Thanks for the recipe! PSST...don't forget the sprinkle of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This recipe was very good. Even my meat loving husband loved it and asked for a second helping. My alteration to the recipe is that I used spaghetti sauce(didn't have tomato paste) and added real tomatoes and added fresh pumpkin.Yummy. w ill definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My husband doesn't normally like minestrone soups because they are too "thin" but the tomato paste in this recipe made the base thicker and he loved this. This is definitely going to stay in our soup repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly except used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth - and ended up having to add about 6 more ounces than the recipe called for. This was pretty good - although really just a glorified vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States