Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great recipe!! I make it at least once a month, I also added diced zucchini when adding the macaroni, it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Did not have tomatoe paste so added tomatoe soup. Also added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was good. I did make some adjustments with the spices as I found it to be a little bland. I find that with any soups the veggies taste better if you saute them a bit to soften them up before adding the liquids. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmama307

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Wow! This was delightful! The only changes I made was to halve it, use chicken broth instead of vegetable b/c that's what I had, doubled the beans, used about 1/2 of the amount of macaroni and only simmered w/ them for about 5 mins, and used a healthy squirt of ketchup instead of tomato paste - b/c I just don't like the flavor of the paste. LOVED this soup! Perfect hearty soup for the cooler weather! update: noodles did swell up, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Delicious soup! I was a little worried that it would just turn out plain, but I was wrong. The flavors were perfect and it actually turned out quite flavorful. The only thing that I found off was the cook and prep time, but that is no big deal. This is a definite keeper for the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I loved this soup. Added some frozen chopped spinach. The only problem I had was that even cutting the pasta back to half I had to add about 3 extra cups of broth because the pasta had absorbed most of what was there. Next time I will cut it back even further or omit it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Good soup. After reading the reviews, I added a couple extra cups of broth and cooked the macaroni separately so it wouldn't be too stew-like. I also added a can of white beans in addition to the kidney beans to add some extra protein. It was pretty good, but just a little on the bland side. Like most soups, it's much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
i did make this into a smaller batch, but wow this was fantastic! i used a sweet potato instead of white potato and the starchiness was much less noticable...i ran out of stock when the water level boiled off a bit and instead of adding water, which loses the flvours i added a puch of french onion soup mix and then added some water. it adds a beefy flavour. haven't eaten it yet but it smells amazing! even though it is 35 degrees celcius i am cooking it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ay Sontespli
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I loosely followed this recipe and am excited to have found the combo of ingredients similar to the old Minestrone soup recipe that I had clipped from the Vancouver Sun eons ago but have now lost. Unfortunately my pot was not big enough to accommodate all the ingredients! I left out the pasta and still the soup ate like a stew! I used an 820g can of diced tomatoes, no tomato paste, garbanzo beans instead of kidney and two onions instead of one. My cooking order was a lot different too: sauteed onions for 3 min, added garlic and continued cooking for another min or two. Added chopped celery and the basil and oregano and cooked for three mins with the lid on. Added the can of tomatoes, two cans of water and the vegetable broth, followed by all the veggies except the corn. Added some freshly ground pepper and a bit of salt. About 40 minutes before serving I added the garbanzo beans and corn kernels. I would have added the pasta at this point had I used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States