Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Wonderful recipe, except it is absoutely necessary to double the liquid. I did so and on the second day it still had absorbed almost all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
The preparation instructions reduced my rating. I sauteed the carrots, onion, celery, and garlic and blanched the potatoes in boiling water for 5 min. before mixing other ingredients (otherwise you have very crisp veggies). I agree with the earlier reviewer adding the fresh herbs with the pasta. I added fresh-ground black pepper to the sautee. Otherwise it is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was easy to put together and didn't take many ingredients. I did have to add a LOT more liquid as there wasn't much to cook the pasta in. I added beef broth since I didn't have vegetable on hand. I cut this in half and it still made a huge pot full of soup, 3 qts. My son complained there was too much green stuff, but I don't know whether to cut back on the oregano or the basil or both. He still ate a bowl full. Hubby thought it was too rich and too stew-like and not soupy enough. This made a decent meal and was fairly quick to get together, all done in about an hour. I'm not sure I'll make this one again though as my family just wasn't "wowed". Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Easy to make, and delicious. I left out the pasta because there was way too little liquid for it to cook, but I prefer no pasta in my minestone anyway. I halved the recipe to 6 portions, and if I'd added in more liquid and pasta it would have made 6 very large meal-sied portions. I refrigerated and froze some in individual portions and it still tasted great. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very good. Lacking in broth, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very good... however I did make adjustments otherwise I would give it 5 stars... I added fire roasted tomatoes and more liquid and less noodles... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDSURVIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesquite, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I used homemade vegetable stock that I made first. This soup is very healthy and satisfying. I used almost double the stock as written and only half the pasta. It came out great. I added zucchini; any vegetable you like will work fine. Cannot wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good soup. I cut the recipe down based on what I had and it was plenty for my family of four. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe was very good however i did take the advice on adding 24 oz's more vegetable stock and it took longer than an hour before the vegtable were done. The end result was a great tasting soup everyone enjoyed. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grifo
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Recipe was very easy to make and it makes ALOT! I would recomend to cut your vegetable into small pieces especially the carrots and potatoes. As for the rest I doubled the broth and cut 1/2 cup of the pasta out, even this did not work as previously recomended I would go with 1/2 the pasta (and most importantly pre-cook it) I love the pasta in minestrone and it was too much for me! As for the cooking instead of slow simmering I brought the soup up to a boil reduced to a simmer and covered and it cut about 10 minutes off of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States