Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Fun project but beware when shaping the curved end. When mine baked it formed a perfect replica of the male genitalia. We had a good laugh over it since we were all adults but would not be appropriate for children. Guests were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maya D
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is a great recipe, I've made it three times and have never had any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made 2 of these for Thanksgiving this year-- first time trying the recipe. Followed instructions exactly. The hardest part about this was making the form, and then trying to get the form out of the finished product without tearing it, especially the tip of the tail. Once it was finished, however, it looked very professional! Each one will look a little different. Very inexpensive and really doesnt take that long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
First the cons: 1) It was hard to keep the sticks on the foil. they kept sliding or dripping off the cone. 2) I had trouble keeping all the ends pinched together and some curled away from the cone when it baked. 3) I'd cover the top with foil from the begining to keep it from browning too fast. 3) the foil was a pain in the arse to get out of the cone after it was finished baking. I lost 3 nails and had a few foil cuts by the time i finished. DESPITE all that, my family was flabbergasted at the result. No one really noticed the curled ends and were ultimately really impressed with what a nice appetizer plate it made. I'll probably do it again next year, though I'll try to tuck in the ends rather than just pinch them (that egg wash does nothing to keep things sticking together) and I may keep the dough really cold to keep it all from dripping & dropping off the cone. Worth the effort. I would have given it 5 stars had it been easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was awesome. I think that next year I will let my toddlers help. It seems fool proof. It is also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Langston
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was so cool and the talk of my first Thanksgiving as a hostess! I loved it and will do it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Langston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
It turned out beautifully!! I can't wait to make it again at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great idea. I used a 'vertical poultry roaster' covered in foil with some Pam. Then, after trying crescent roll dough and pizza dough, learned that the pizza dough works best. Once cooked and cooled, I lined the inside with plastic wrap and used it as a centerpiece for veggies and fruit tray. Gorgeous!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made this for the second time and it looks so impressive when finished. I found this very easy and did not need more than one person. Last year, I made it for the first time and was too picky with my foil shape and over worked it trying to make it look like a perfect cornucopia. This time I was less fussy and it comes out great once dough is on it and wrapped. I will fill it with veggies and serve for Thanksgiving tomorrow. My suggestion is work quickly with the dough. As it warms, it expands and can get a little tacky. You need not be fussy with it, it will turn out great. Breadstick dough is pricey, I remember using an alternative last year as someone suggested, but couldn't remember which of the pillsbury doughs it was. I definitely give this 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
My 10 year old made this. Followed directions exactly, turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States