Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by *~Amy~*
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was the center piece for our Thanksgiving dinner. It was a huge success! Easy to make and looks amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I LOVE this! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was so easy and everyone praised it! I didn't brush it with butter or egg and it come out perfect! One bit of advice I would give, is don't stretch the dough to much as you wrap it around the aluminum foil because it will cause issues and as it bakes it may split and you will end up with holes here and there. I did also make a bowl to but dip in. I used the ame technique as the cornucopia and it turned out wonderful! I had made a lattes pattern for the bottom and it was so neat looking! I may try and use that same pattern on my next cornucopia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell Springs, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Wow this was the most amazing centerpiece I have ever made it's beautiful and huge hit! placing the bread around the aluminum foil took a bit of work my daughter helped but was well worth it we decided we will do it every Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeefaith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I just made this with my husband. I only had 12 inch wide aluminum foil, which worked fine. I skipped the egg part for joining them together. As long as you work the breadsticks together they should look fine. Mine might have come out a bit smaller than others, due to the aluminum foil thing, but it looks yummy. I baked at center rack for 350 for about 30 minutes instead of the 45 because it was starting to brown, even though I covered it in tinfoil in some spots on the top. Aluminum foil came out very easily. Will eat tomorrow with Thanksgiving. Going to stuff it with carrots/broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPHABET672

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casco, Maine, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Three tips: 1) Its all in the mold. Take your time forming it and don't forget to bend the tail into the shape you desire. I like mine to stand straight up. 2) And its been said before - don't put the breadsticks together with the egg wash. Just press them together very well. 3) Have a blast. This recipe is fun to make and will impress the family getting you Ooohs and Ahhhs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRCelano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Wonderful photos! gave mee lots of ideas for stuffing the cornucopias I've made for people with different tastes... very helpful.! one fomily loves fresh berries and sideof of whipped strawberry honey cream cheese, one likes mini candy bars n unshelled variety of nuts (gives the kiddos, young and old somthing to do while waiting on the feast...some fresh vegg. n ranch. Made them for years.. but your site was nost helpful regarding the egg glaze for particular desired outcome.... hard,soft, I prefer shiny w sesame seeds. Thanx again for the pics.. it's bread art! B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love a good project. This was so fun, and actually fairly easy to do. Mine is in the oven right now, and it's GORGEOUS! I can't wait to get it out and put in on display tomorrow. I used egg wash when it was all together. I would recommend fixing little gaps about 5-10 minutes into baking...the dough tends to pull apart at seams a little. A little cooking spray on the pan would have been helpful. I've turned it a couple of times while cooking because the top gets brown faster than the sides and bottom. SO cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie In Progress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debbieann
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Absolutely stunning and way too easy! I cannot wait to display this on my table on Thanksgiving day! I used my favorite pizza dough recipe and glazed it completely. Baked for exactly 45 mins. - it is so gorgeous! Thank you for a genius of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I stumbled onto this and decide to make it for our family Thanksgiving. To me, the most difficult part was getting the tin-foil to cooperate when stuffing and trying to make the cornucopia shape. Once I accomplished that, wrapping the bread was a BREEZE! As other mentioned, I also DID NOT use the egg wash to attach the strips; instead, choosing to press the pieces together. This is a FUN project with the end result being very impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was amazing!! I was a little nervous about trying this since the directions seemed complicated but it was so easy! I do recommend having another person help you though. A second set of hands makes it easier! I didn't have any problems with the dough being to slippery or falling off during baking which I was worried about. I didn't use the glaze as glue, I just stuck the bread right to the foil & then used the glaze over the whole thing when I was done. I also only needed 2 containers of dough. I put fruit in the cornucopia & then I made royal icing flowers & decorated the whole thing, it was beautiful! Everyone was sooo impressed! I'm going to make this a tradition in my family! Thanks for the wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States