Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My neice made this for Thanksgiving. It was beaustiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had the "brilliant" idea to use parchment paper for the cone shape, but that really didn't go over so well. Tape doesn't stick well to it, so I ended up having to staple it together in a few places that wouldn't touch the bread. It was a huge pain to get the shape decent with the parchment paper, and it also soaked up all the cooking spray from the cookie sheet so the bread ended up sticking more than I would have liked. So please, stick with aluminum foil! Aside from that, it worked quite well. My husband took several pictures and kept bragging to everyone about how I had made it. As you're wrapping the bread, just keep your eye out for holes that form in the already wrapped parts. I also found that once the form is wrapped with the braid, I could very easily turn the end up a little and place some foil underneath to hold it. I ended up adding three more braided breadsticks to the end the first three braided ones so that the braid would go all the way around. I also sprinkled the whole thing with garlic powder. I stuffed with fresh veggies and used a hollowed out red cabbage for the dip and it just looked fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
My husband helped me make this (and I'm glad he did, I can see how making this by myself would have been frustrating!) and it "wowed" everyone this Thanksgiving! My mom was so impressed she made it the centerpiece of the appetizer table. This will be a yearly tradition for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Amy~*
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was the center piece for our Thanksgiving dinner. It was a huge success! Easy to make and looks amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I LOVE this! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was so easy and everyone praised it! I didn't brush it with butter or egg and it come out perfect! One bit of advice I would give, is don't stretch the dough to much as you wrap it around the aluminum foil because it will cause issues and as it bakes it may split and you will end up with holes here and there. I did also make a bowl to but dip in. I used the ame technique as the cornucopia and it turned out wonderful! I had made a lattes pattern for the bottom and it was so neat looking! I may try and use that same pattern on my next cornucopia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell Springs, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Wow this was the most amazing centerpiece I have ever made it's beautiful and huge hit! placing the bread around the aluminum foil took a bit of work my daughter helped but was well worth it we decided we will do it every Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeefaith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I just made this with my husband. I only had 12 inch wide aluminum foil, which worked fine. I skipped the egg part for joining them together. As long as you work the breadsticks together they should look fine. Mine might have come out a bit smaller than others, due to the aluminum foil thing, but it looks yummy. I baked at center rack for 350 for about 30 minutes instead of the 45 because it was starting to brown, even though I covered it in tinfoil in some spots on the top. Aluminum foil came out very easily. Will eat tomorrow with Thanksgiving. Going to stuff it with carrots/broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPHABET672

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casco, Maine, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Three tips: 1) Its all in the mold. Take your time forming it and don't forget to bend the tail into the shape you desire. I like mine to stand straight up. 2) And its been said before - don't put the breadsticks together with the egg wash. Just press them together very well. 3) Have a blast. This recipe is fun to make and will impress the family getting you Ooohs and Ahhhs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRCelano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Wonderful photos! gave mee lots of ideas for stuffing the cornucopias I've made for people with different tastes... very helpful.! one fomily loves fresh berries and sideof of whipped strawberry honey cream cheese, one likes mini candy bars n unshelled variety of nuts (gives the kiddos, young and old somthing to do while waiting on the feast...some fresh vegg. n ranch. Made them for years.. but your site was nost helpful regarding the egg glaze for particular desired outcome.... hard,soft, I prefer shiny w sesame seeds. Thanx again for the pics.. it's bread art! B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love a good project. This was so fun, and actually fairly easy to do. Mine is in the oven right now, and it's GORGEOUS! I can't wait to get it out and put in on display tomorrow. I used egg wash when it was all together. I would recommend fixing little gaps about 5-10 minutes into baking...the dough tends to pull apart at seams a little. A little cooking spray on the pan would have been helpful. I've turned it a couple of times while cooking because the top gets brown faster than the sides and bottom. SO cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie In Progress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States