Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Easy if you follow directions. Can't forget to spray foil and must use the breadsticks. Biscuts do not work. Will make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
How cool! This took 3 of us to make - 1 to hold, 1 to lay the breadsticks, and 1 to supervise! I think the key is to spray the foil *lightly* with cooking spray - I sprayed it thick, and the breadsticks tended to slide off. We ended up not using the egg at the end of each breadstick, as that made it slippery as well; however, we did use it to glaze. It turned out so cute, and we had a blast making it. Note that you can make it up to a week and a half early - after that, it starts to mildew. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I've made this twice (Thanksgiving & Christmas), and I got raves both times! I filled it with every veggie I could think of (raw asparagus and green onions looked especially nice), and I served dip on the side. All the veggies were eaten; then my mother-in-law asked if she could keep it to break up & serve with chili after Christmas! I'm a floral designer, so this year I'd like to make one and varnish it to keep for a silk flower arrangement! Just follow the directions, take your time, and don't be nervous...you'll surprise yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This cute little center piece was the talk of my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
My 17-year-old daughter made this for our centerpiece last Thanksgiving. It was a bit messy and didn't look very good when first put together but after baking turned out fabulous. We will do it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NICOLLE WRIGHT
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Don't use the glaze to attach the bread sticks together and only for final glaze. I also sprinkle with sesame seeds after glaze. Lower the oven temp to 325 and increase the bake time to up to 1 1/2 hours depend on how light to golden brown you want the bread form to look. Family raves about this and askes me to make it every year.Also make the day before and keep form in and wrap real well when cool with plastic wrap saves time for holiday cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Round Lake Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DARK89
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I am so excited how well this turned out. My guests will be so impressed (my husband was!) It was much easier than I thought and I only ended up using 2 cans of breadsticks. Looks like something from a professional bakery! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARK89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
What a great recipe! I did it on a lark and was very pleased with the results. (And my husband was too, surprisingly.) It does help if you have experience doing craftsy projects, especially for wrapping the dough around the foil cone, but it's not a requirement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful center. Not hard to make and I filled it with Frosted Pecans bites. I also made leaf's with cookie cutter and extra dough then attached before baking. looked even more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindleyK
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
If I can do this, anyone can! Take the tips about not putting the glaze on the tips of the breadsticks. I also used a 325 oven. So EASY! Yes, it takes 2 people to wrap the cone, or one very talented person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States