Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My 7 year old daughter and I made this for thanksgiving this year. We didn't use breadsticks, instead we used cresent rolls, and it turned out fantastic! Looks complicated to make, but it was very easy and we got many compliments! I should also add that this does not require more than one person to make.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
fun to make and received so many compliments! Such a decorative piece, I served fruit but there are so many different ways to present this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Came out beautiful!! Little tricky, but worth the effort. Made a beautiful center piece for Thanksgiving, and I laquered mine to keep for Xmas use too. I only ended up using 2 cans of the breadsticks though, I bought 3, I just didnt get into the 3rd. Might have been because I had normal foil, rather than the large, heavy duty stuff, so my size was just a bit off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by Lacee
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Impressed the in-laws! Always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
It's a neat idea and didn't turn out too bad, but it was a mess trying to get it to hold together. I couldn't get the opening big enough and while it was baking I kept having to check on it to fix the pieces that slid off. I probably won't bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Loved this! It turned out beautifully and was the talk of our Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Wow! You have got to make this. It is not as difficult as it looks. I used a disposable pizza pan instead of the foil and it worked perfectly! I used it as my centerpiece filled with veggies and a side of dip. The next day we ate it with the hot artichoke annd spinach dip from this site. Delicious! This has become a new Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My neice made this for Thanksgiving. It was beaustiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had the "brilliant" idea to use parchment paper for the cone shape, but that really didn't go over so well. Tape doesn't stick well to it, so I ended up having to staple it together in a few places that wouldn't touch the bread. It was a huge pain to get the shape decent with the parchment paper, and it also soaked up all the cooking spray from the cookie sheet so the bread ended up sticking more than I would have liked. So please, stick with aluminum foil! Aside from that, it worked quite well. My husband took several pictures and kept bragging to everyone about how I had made it. As you're wrapping the bread, just keep your eye out for holes that form in the already wrapped parts. I also found that once the form is wrapped with the braid, I could very easily turn the end up a little and place some foil underneath to hold it. I ended up adding three more braided breadsticks to the end the first three braided ones so that the braid would go all the way around. I also sprinkled the whole thing with garlic powder. I stuffed with fresh veggies and used a hollowed out red cabbage for the dip and it just looked fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
My husband helped me make this (and I'm glad he did, I can see how making this by myself would have been frustrating!) and it "wowed" everyone this Thanksgiving! My mom was so impressed she made it the centerpiece of the appetizer table. This will be a yearly tradition for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States