Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was my first time making this recipe. I loved it. However, I used pizza crust dough which worked out real well and it only took 1 and a half tubes of pizza crust dough to make one large cornucopia. It certainly was a hit for the Thanksgiving dinner. It was so pretty with all of the color veggies around it. It would also make a wonderful gift idea for Christmas I thought. I now have people asking me to make them one! I just refere them here to this website! I love this website! I loved the recipe for this too! I love you guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made by myself and it was definitely a pain in the rear. In the end tho, it was well worth it. Some suggestions: have 2 ppl; don't stretch the dough or use too much egg mix because the dough just wants to seperate. By the time I was done, I had toothpicks holding the bread in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdn461

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was great. But wasn't very child-friendly as written. Here is an easier way: purchase a disposable pizza-pan (as shown in the All Recipes video) or a smallish rectangle (with low edges). I couldn't find a pizza pan anywhere, but the rectangular disposable pan turned out even better IMO. Manipulate into a cone/cornucopia shape. Do NOT spray cone with cooking spray (although it is good to spray the baking sheet you plan to place the cornucopia on). Wrap with bread stick dough as written. Pinch edges well or some pieces may come apart while baking. If braiding is too difficult, then simple 'twists' are fine around the opening. The disposable pan holds it shape much better than foil and it's easy to fill. My 5 year old did all the wrapping while I 'helped' by holding the cone in place. This will be an annual tradition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a fun recipe. I didn't use the egg wash to connect the pieces together because it was too slippery. I put the egg wash on at the end. I only used two rolls of breadsticks. Then I filled it with cut-up veggies and grapes. Thank you for the neat idea. It was a Thanksgiving hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Really great idea. The corucopia was a big hit. At first I was hesitant because the instructions seemed "detailed" but I read it 3 times and realized it was easy. Make foil in shape of cone/cornucopia, stuff opening with foil balls, spray, wrap breadsticks around overlapping, brush with egg and water. Bake and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
What a cute idea - I love stuff like this. It turned out great and I had no problems. I only needed two packs of breadsticks, though, and didn't cook the full 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great idea. Mine just came out of the oven after 35 minutes perfect golden brown. Will make changes to how I constructed, no fault of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this for a centerpiece and it turned out perfect! I recommend using a throw away cookie sheet with the raised edge cut off as the cone since it is more stable. I was able to make this by myself since it was more sturdy, also if you overlap the bread stick as you wrap it around the mold it won't slip off as some people commented on. Definitely will make this for many years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a fun project and looks nice. It made the house smell so nice too. It is slippery and I agree it is best if you have some help. While mine was in the oven part of the dough slipped away and so now one side has a hole in it but otherwise it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
So quick and everyone raved about it! Everyone was amazed that I had made it myself. It was a bit hard wrapping the bread around the foil by myself since I had sprayed it with Pam, so I would recommend having another person to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States