Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by love4chocolate
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Awesome idea, but not as easy as I thought it would be. The dough kept sliding down the foil making it hard to keep it's shape. I thought for sure it would look like a disaster. It turned out better looking than I thought it would. My whole family loved it! Will make every year, but I will put it together far away from the heat of the oven. I'm sure that is why it was getting too soft and sliding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love4chocolate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was fun! I only used two cans of breadstick dough, baked it at 325 and only needed to bake it for about 50 minutes. It was beautiful. I did use the Reynold's nonstick aluminum, but wasn't able to remove the foil post-baking because it was stuck in the tip at the end. ** second attempt. I added a separate small piece of foil at the end for the curved tip. This allowed me to easily pull the large piece of nonstick foil out post baking leaving just the small piece hidden in the tip.** I did stretch the breadsticks, but just overlapped and pinched well(no glaze during assembly) and had no issues with it separating. I did need toothpicks to hold the braid in place while baking and they were a challenge to remove, but otherwise had no trouble. Was grateful to have mom to assist, but I do think it can be done by one person in a pinch--just need some time and patience. I filled with chocolate candies and presented it as a hostess gift as "The Horn of Plenty of Chocolate." It was quite the hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
It was okay. The combination of wheat and vegetables were a little much, my kids wouldn't touch it and it was a bit awkward. It was okay but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was my first time making this recipe. I loved it. However, I used pizza crust dough which worked out real well and it only took 1 and a half tubes of pizza crust dough to make one large cornucopia. It certainly was a hit for the Thanksgiving dinner. It was so pretty with all of the color veggies around it. It would also make a wonderful gift idea for Christmas I thought. I now have people asking me to make them one! I just refere them here to this website! I love this website! I loved the recipe for this too! I love you guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made by myself and it was definitely a pain in the rear. In the end tho, it was well worth it. Some suggestions: have 2 ppl; don't stretch the dough or use too much egg mix because the dough just wants to seperate. By the time I was done, I had toothpicks holding the bread in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdn461

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was great. But wasn't very child-friendly as written. Here is an easier way: purchase a disposable pizza-pan (as shown in the All Recipes video) or a smallish rectangle (with low edges). I couldn't find a pizza pan anywhere, but the rectangular disposable pan turned out even better IMO. Manipulate into a cone/cornucopia shape. Do NOT spray cone with cooking spray (although it is good to spray the baking sheet you plan to place the cornucopia on). Wrap with bread stick dough as written. Pinch edges well or some pieces may come apart while baking. If braiding is too difficult, then simple 'twists' are fine around the opening. The disposable pan holds it shape much better than foil and it's easy to fill. My 5 year old did all the wrapping while I 'helped' by holding the cone in place. This will be an annual tradition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a fun recipe. I didn't use the egg wash to connect the pieces together because it was too slippery. I put the egg wash on at the end. I only used two rolls of breadsticks. Then I filled it with cut-up veggies and grapes. Thank you for the neat idea. It was a Thanksgiving hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Really great idea. The corucopia was a big hit. At first I was hesitant because the instructions seemed "detailed" but I read it 3 times and realized it was easy. Make foil in shape of cone/cornucopia, stuff opening with foil balls, spray, wrap breadsticks around overlapping, brush with egg and water. Bake and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
What a cute idea - I love stuff like this. It turned out great and I had no problems. I only needed two packs of breadsticks, though, and didn't cook the full 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great idea. Mine just came out of the oven after 35 minutes perfect golden brown. Will make changes to how I constructed, no fault of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States