Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Mama Gator's Cucina
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was so pretty, my family was afraid to eat it so I was the first to tear off a piece! We love fresh veggies and fruit, so nothing went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I love this!!!! I had a "Thanksoween" party for my sister since she was in the middle east for Thanksgiving and Halloween this year and made this for our centerpiece. I was running way behind and threw this whole thing together in about 10 minutes. Mine wasn't as pretty as some of the pictures here but for how hurriedly it was put together I was shocked by how nice it looked. And I ate it after the party it tasted good too! I will absolutely be making this again maybe with homemade bread dough next time as the breadstick dough is kind of expensive. I only needed 2 cans, but I have no idea if I actually made it the right size or not. Only change I would make here is to say it's not necessary to use the egg to seal the pieces together. Just pinch them together, works better that way. Thank you for the very creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I love this recipie! I made the 1st one for my friend and had a small gapping hole so I put a red bow over it. She loved it. The 2nd one I checked every 2 mins. for the 1st 10 mins. of baking and caught any gaps and after that didn't have to check any longer. I used the pizza pan method and used some foil for a longer tail. Also I didn't pre spray anything. I did do the egg wash. Will do this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I had trouble getting the pieces to stick together but was surprised at the result. looked great. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and although it turned out OK, comments other reviewers made were dead on, but they didn't seem to help me in the process. I must have sprayed too much nonstick spray, I had a problem with one side falling off in the oven, but I was able to hide it with the placement of food around it on my platter. It did turn out a deep rich golden color which was nice. Also the reviewer who said to work quick was correct, I was alone and did notice the more the dough came to room temp the more difficult it was to work with. Overall it was a good recipe and everyone was impressed with it at dinner. Maybe my next one will turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Head

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Danielle
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Mine had a hole between the braided edge and the rest but it still looked fine & I served it for Thanksgiving dinner. Read all of the reviews, to get the hints others have- they helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was fun and shows really well. I had problems with the breadsticks sliding off, but it cooked well. I filled it with cut up veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love4chocolate
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Awesome idea, but not as easy as I thought it would be. The dough kept sliding down the foil making it hard to keep it's shape. I thought for sure it would look like a disaster. It turned out better looking than I thought it would. My whole family loved it! Will make every year, but I will put it together far away from the heat of the oven. I'm sure that is why it was getting too soft and sliding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love4chocolate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was fun! I only used two cans of breadstick dough, baked it at 325 and only needed to bake it for about 50 minutes. It was beautiful. I did use the Reynold's nonstick aluminum, but wasn't able to remove the foil post-baking because it was stuck in the tip at the end. ** second attempt. I added a separate small piece of foil at the end for the curved tip. This allowed me to easily pull the large piece of nonstick foil out post baking leaving just the small piece hidden in the tip.** I did stretch the breadsticks, but just overlapped and pinched well(no glaze during assembly) and had no issues with it separating. I did need toothpicks to hold the braid in place while baking and they were a challenge to remove, but otherwise had no trouble. Was grateful to have mom to assist, but I do think it can be done by one person in a pinch--just need some time and patience. I filled with chocolate candies and presented it as a hostess gift as "The Horn of Plenty of Chocolate." It was quite the hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
It was okay. The combination of wheat and vegetables were a little much, my kids wouldn't touch it and it was a bit awkward. It was okay but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States