Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by MeeKum
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was a fairly easy recipe to make. My hubby was my first set of hands on this. (It needs two sets) As the recipes says, we used the egg mixture to connect the pieces (but only on the first two). It made them too slippery. When we had it ready to go into the oven, we took the drooping pieces and stretched them back into place. After it was baked, we did have a few gaps, but I had some silk fall colored leaves and I used straight pins and stuck the leaves over the gaps. Turned out great. Got a lot of compliments at the church's harvest supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Really fun to do, turn out great. I had some slippage3 in the oven, but it formed a more natural look and ended up a great center piece and presentation for veggies and dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was amazing!!! Really easy, absolutely gorgeous and tasty, too. I will make this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Gator's Cucina
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was so pretty, my family was afraid to eat it so I was the first to tear off a piece! We love fresh veggies and fruit, so nothing went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Gator's Cucina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Philippi, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I love this!!!! I had a "Thanksoween" party for my sister since she was in the middle east for Thanksgiving and Halloween this year and made this for our centerpiece. I was running way behind and threw this whole thing together in about 10 minutes. Mine wasn't as pretty as some of the pictures here but for how hurriedly it was put together I was shocked by how nice it looked. And I ate it after the party it tasted good too! I will absolutely be making this again maybe with homemade bread dough next time as the breadstick dough is kind of expensive. I only needed 2 cans, but I have no idea if I actually made it the right size or not. Only change I would make here is to say it's not necessary to use the egg to seal the pieces together. Just pinch them together, works better that way. Thank you for the very creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I love this recipie! I made the 1st one for my friend and had a small gapping hole so I put a red bow over it. She loved it. The 2nd one I checked every 2 mins. for the 1st 10 mins. of baking and caught any gaps and after that didn't have to check any longer. I used the pizza pan method and used some foil for a longer tail. Also I didn't pre spray anything. I did do the egg wash. Will do this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I had trouble getting the pieces to stick together but was surprised at the result. looked great. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and although it turned out OK, comments other reviewers made were dead on, but they didn't seem to help me in the process. I must have sprayed too much nonstick spray, I had a problem with one side falling off in the oven, but I was able to hide it with the placement of food around it on my platter. It did turn out a deep rich golden color which was nice. Also the reviewer who said to work quick was correct, I was alone and did notice the more the dough came to room temp the more difficult it was to work with. Overall it was a good recipe and everyone was impressed with it at dinner. Maybe my next one will turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Head

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Danielle
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Mine had a hole between the braided edge and the rest but it still looked fine & I served it for Thanksgiving dinner. Read all of the reviews, to get the hints others have- they helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was fun and shows really well. I had problems with the breadsticks sliding off, but it cooked well. I filled it with cut up veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States