Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This turned out better than I thought and was much easier than I'd envisioned. I didn't have any trouble with slippage but the braid did fall off during baking. I think it was too heavy. I pinned it back in place with wood picks. Can't wait to fill it with fresh cut veggies - it will be a conversation piece as well as a nice change from the old "relish tray"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this recipe twice, once with crescent rolls and once with the breadsticks. The breadsticks are much easier to work with and give a much better result. Keeping the breadsticks very cold makes it much easier to work with them. I sprayed the cone lightly and did not use the egg wash to hold the ends. I just pinched the ends and used the egg wash just for color. It baked for a long time, an hour at 350 degrees. After it baked, I removed the foil inside and returned it to the oven to dry out the inside a bit. About 10 more minutes. It was beautiful. Just like I remember my mom making for Thanksgiving. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I basically made a cornucopia the same way a few years ago, but using my own bread recipe. I would think it would be easier to cover the foil using your own bread recipe because you can cut longer, wider, etc. strips. It gives you a little more control. The refrigerated dough would save a lot of time though. I make vegetables out of bread to fill my cornucopia. I also used gingerbread to make leaves which looked beautiful. I dyed the egg glaze various colors to make the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marijke M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was such a cute idea. The compliments overflowed just like my Cornucopia did! I baked mine in a convection oven and it only took 30 minutes for the braid to be beautifully brown(covered the braid with foil at that point to protect it from overbrowning), and an additional 10 minutes for the rest of it to cook to a golden brown. I too, recommend 2 people to handle the dough for ease of wrapping it around the foil form. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Principality
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I couldn't find bread stick dough anywhere! I used crescent dough creations, sliced it into strips and it worked brilliantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Very easy and VERY impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made this as a trial run...now I have to make 4 more!! Easy to do..my only suggestion is watch as it starts baking I inserted toothpicks in a couple of places where the seal didnt take. other than that it went as easy as the recipe said! A big hit with my husband & son...the insides will be cheeses, muffin/breads,fruits & veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeeKum
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was a fairly easy recipe to make. My hubby was my first set of hands on this. (It needs two sets) As the recipes says, we used the egg mixture to connect the pieces (but only on the first two). It made them too slippery. When we had it ready to go into the oven, we took the drooping pieces and stretched them back into place. After it was baked, we did have a few gaps, but I had some silk fall colored leaves and I used straight pins and stuck the leaves over the gaps. Turned out great. Got a lot of compliments at the church's harvest supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Really fun to do, turn out great. I had some slippage3 in the oven, but it formed a more natural look and ended up a great center piece and presentation for veggies and dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was amazing!!! Really easy, absolutely gorgeous and tasty, too. I will make this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States