Cornmeal Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
I doubled this recipe and it came out okay. It tasted more like cornbread with strawberries. Didn't go over too well with my kids and the neighborhood kids, but husband's co-worker's ate it. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerMike
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I love this recipe and so does everyone I feed it to. For a twist, use blue cornmeal rather than the regulation yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Mmm...this was very good, but I love the texture that cornmeal gives in cakes. Not as moist as most cakes either. Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Made this last night with fresh strawberries at the peak of their season. It's light, not too sweet and oh-so-tasty. Even my husband, who normally won't eat strawberries, had only good things to say. I did not find it dry at all, it just tasted like cornmeal, as one would expect. As a side note, I used regular (i.e. bleached) flour and vanilla yogurt because that's what I had on hand, and these worked fine. Simply a perfect way to use those summer strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I only had strawberry flavoured yoghurt in my fridge so I used it in place of plain yoghurt. I also did not have fresh strawberries. maybe it's due to the lack of the sliced fresh strawberries that my cake turned out to be dry. but i'll try again, this time with the strawberries. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was really good! I made it in the spring before strawberries were available, so I tried it with a package of frozen cranberries and it was delicious.... Also, used my "bloody butcher" cornmeal (red). We plan to try it with strawberries, but I'm sure any fresh fruit would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
A really lovely cake! Moist and flavoursome without being overly sweet. I used some extra sliced strawberries and arranged them over the top before baking but it didnt last long enough to have a photo taken :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Oh, how delightful! I wanted to use up some yogurt and cornbread, so I input those two ingredients into the recipe finder and this is what came up. It's like a dense, sweet cornbread. I used frozen blueberries because I wanted to save my fresh strawberries for another dish. I also try to avoid using white sugar, so instead I put in 2/3c. of brown sugar. I had a slice with some vanilla ice cream while it was still just slightly warm and it was delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiaLucia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a really good recipe. The flavor is nice. The texture is nice. The only problem that I had with it was that the strawberries all sank to the bottom of the pan. Also, the recipe should probably be more specific about what kind of corn meal can be used (white or yellow). It might not matter. Anyway, This one is going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I went with blue corn meal, blueberry yogurt, blueberries and a combo of sugar and honey...absolutely amazing! Served with blueberry yougurt and whip cream on top - great presentation and great way to end the evening's meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States