Cornmeal Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
veryt yummy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
My bread rose too high, and although tasty, it was too airy, hard to slice. I think I need to increase salt a bit next time. This bread is on a sweet side. Works well with food that is sweetened too. It goes stale very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great bread. My family ate the whole thing in one sitting. I don't have a bread machine, so here's how I made it with my stand mixer. Add the cornmeal, 1 cup of flour, salt, and a packet of yeast to the mixer bowl and mix. Heat up the water, molasses, and vegetable oil to 130 F (hot, but you can still put your finger in it without burning yourself). Then add the liquid mixture to the mixing bowl and mix. Gradually add the rest of the flour (you may not need all of it) until the dough balls up on the hook and is slightly sticky. Then knead by hand for 5 minutes on a floured surface and leave to rise for an hour or so in a covered bowl. After, knead the dough, shape into a loaf (or put it in a greased loaf pan) and leave to rise another 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 375 F. Bake for about 40 minutes or until the internal temp of the loaf is 200 F. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Very nice texture and flavor. Followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Never fully rose... followed directions and ingredients exactly (and my yeast is active). That said, it was fairly light and airy. I was not a big fan of the flavor (could not taste the molasses), but my dining companion liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
One of my favourite breads to make and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I still cannot believe how light this bread really is. It did not last the night in our house. Oops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul W. Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The bread went stale pretty quickly, but that's not unusual with homemade breads. We just didn't eat it fast enough this week. It's a nice tasting bread. I decided to make croutons with it bc it was stale and it makes great croutons too. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This recipe couldn't be easier, and the bread machine does all the work. I hadn't used my bread machine to bake in ages - I usually just use it for dough. I'm glad I decided to try this recipe in the bread machine. The crust is nice and chewy, and the bread has just a hint of sweetness. It's great with jam or pumpkin butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was delicious. I wish it was a bit more molasses-tasting, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States