Cornmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
These cookies are appropriate for tea. They break somewhat easily but are worth the effort. One of the best cookies I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I substituted margarine for the butter, used one heaping tablespoon of lime juice from concentrate in place of lime extract, and used demerara sugar. They were great without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Fantastic- no changes except I added a few choc chips for kidsake to a few of them and still yummy. For the glaze, I grated lime zest to add color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
We loved these cookies. I have baked them twice, the second time for two high school girlfriends who had come for tea. One took most home with her! I used vanilla extract instead of lime, and did not ice. They were buttery and crunchy and very good. Orange is another flavor I have seen cornmeal cookies associated with. I would say: Bake and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallyjane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdton, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These came out amazing! I used whole wheat flour and I wanted more lime flavor, so I used the juice and zest of half a lime, added a tsp of vanilla extract and they came out perfect! They are very delicate and I love the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Had the taste and consistency of sweet cornbread with the perfect hint of lime, which I actually enjoyed. I did, however, make a few alterations: 1) I used one lime's worth of juice and zest instead of lime extract in the batter, 2) I used half wheat flour, half all purpose to add some additional texture and flavor, 3) I omitted the icing all together as it sounded too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
These cookies are wonderful! The recipe sounds a bit strange, but I made them for my office & they were an absolute hit!! I can imagine that they would be a wonderful treat with fresh strawberries after a light fish or chicken dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
A local shop sells Lime Cornbread cookies, and I looked on All Recipes hoping to find a recipe for something similar. This recipe comes very close (it's perhaps a little sweeter). Cornmeal cookies are a refreshing change from the usual choc chip or oatmeal, and the lime makes this particular recipe very special. These cookies are great for teatime, to accompany a light meal, or to go with all the lime/chili flavors of many Mexican meals. I'm going to experiment with decreasing the sugar a bit, but otherwise, these are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Really really great flavor! I used fresh ground cornmeal and a 1/4 teaspoon of lime oil, rather than extract. For some reason, the second sheet of cookies ran and spread much more than the first, and were very crumbly. Perhaps I should have chilled the dough? These would probably make fantastic "log" cookies if you made the dough into two logs and chilled them in waxed paper, then sliced and sugared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very good, tasty cookies. I did tweak it a bit after reading the other reviews. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 white, and decreased both butter and sugar a bit. I also used lime juice instead of extract. Very light tasty cookies, I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States