Cornmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very good cookie, brings back childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Great! Tasted like a cornmeal shortbread cookie. I cheated and used the Marie Calendar's(R) Cornbread mix recipe with using Butter Flavored Crisco(R),eggs and vanilla flavoring. Yes, I agree just dust with sugar. I didn't have raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Great, easy cookie. Came across this as I was searching for a good zaletti cookie recipe. Mine have dried cranberries instead of raisins, definitely worth trying. I've received lots of compliments on it and that it is a little unexpected. A great addition to any cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were a big hit in my house! I omitted the raisins & added chopped, dried cranberries instead. I also added some orange zest & juice for a truly delectible cookie. I also use a 50/50 flour/powdered sugar mix to roll out all my cookies. Works great without making them too floury! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boobooetta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Mill Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delightful flavor and texture. I will definitely make these again and again. I didn't chill the dough but dropped on cookie sheet with teaspoon and then flattened with a sugar dipped glass bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
"Simply" Delicious! I made the recipe exactly as it says - except for the raisins, i cut those out completely. These tasted like cornmeal shortbread. I love the slight crunchiness, too. Btw, the recipe doesn't specify, so i used finely ground cornmeal - after tasting the finished product, i would assume that's what the author wants you to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I used "Lighter Bake" instead of butter, raw sugar and whole wheat flour and chocolate chips instead of raisins. Turned out great! The texture is definitely much different than your average cookie but I thought putting chocolate chips in gave it that extra bit of sweetness to really enhance the cookie. Mmmm. Great "healthy cookie" alternative and fun new taste! I will definitely save and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made these for a cookie of the month club Christmas present. I made them in January and they were perfect after a month of sweets. The texture was very good and they were not too sweet but really good with a cup of coffee or hot tea. They were gone in no time!! My only issue was that they stuck to the cookie sheet and were hard to get off without breaking. Overall, very good cookie to keep in your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bodfish, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Great took it the the county fair, I won 1st! great cookie (under cooked tastes better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Great cookie. I really like the delicate flakiness with the interesting cornmeal texture that appears as you chew them. I used Craisins instead of raisins and they're a pretty little cookie. I used a scalloped edged cookie cutter and I did chop up the Craisins before stirring them into the dough so they rolled out and cut very nicely. Good cookie. They mailed well, too. I sent them to my son at college. He loves Craisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States