Cornmeal Coating Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I tried double-dipping this coating with an egg dip as someone suggested, and it turned out way too thick. It also wasn't as flavorful as I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Girlfriend brought back some rock fish from a vacation on the Oregon coast. She baked some while I was out of town, said it was tough (she over cooked it). After that she wasn't too keen on rock fish, so I decided to look for a breading recipe and fry some. We were both very happy with the results! Breading was crunchy and the fish was perfect. Fillets were pretty big, I did 2 minutes after I dropped the fish, flipped it for another minute. If you are doing perch or something you might need to adjust the time. Also used peanut oil in a dutch oven, it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I like this a lot. I don't even bother with the milk and the soaking, plus I use it for everything! I usually oven fry fish/chicken. Great for fried green tomatoes too. Try increasing salt to 1 tsp. kosher salt, cayenne to 1/4 tsp., adding 1 tsp. of onion powder and less flour to a little more cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Awesome! I used salt cod that's been boiled a few times and then breaded according to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LADYBOYD
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Made this today. Usually use store bought fish coating. Never again. Only thing diff I did was season my fish with lemon pepper (lawrys) and garlic powder. Also did not use the marinade and my fish came out perfect. I used a whole trout. Will definitely use this again when I'm in the mood for fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBOYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I read another review in which they said it wasn't crispy enough; which I cannot understand. This coating was really crispy but still light. I hate a thick batter and this is exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe minus the thyme. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Awesome breading. Stayed crispy for a long time but is not heavy at all. I did small 1.5" inch pieces of red drum and it turned out fantastic from the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
We use Peanut oil when frying fish, less absorbition from oil, Flash-Point (when oil smoke's from heat and catche's fire) is the highest of all meaning it can be used for extreme temperature's without breaking down. This recipe is Great for any White Fish including Cod, Polluck and Halibut. Make a batch of "Hush Puppies" to compliment your Fish. Remember that the type of White Fish you use may require various coating technique's as mentioned in the rating's here....Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Made it as the recipe is written and I couldn't really taste any of the seasonings well. It had such a high ratio of flour to cornmeal that it wasn't very crunchy/crisp, but I suppose it is called a "coating"... I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was so much better than battered fish. My kids ate it up without putting a thing on it. Lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States