Cornmeal Coating Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I baked instead of fried, and the fish turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The key is to dip in coating, then egg, then coating again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
Looked for a recipe to coat and fry some Pollack fillets and I didnt have 2 cups of dry potato flakes for Crispy Fish( Submitted by: Kristi). I treid this even though there was no reviews but can honestly say that it was a very good coating and is added to my recipe box. Flavouring was perfect for our palate, may be a bit spicey/salty for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I decided to make sole fish and chips for dinner as the man of the house requested a corn mean crusted fish (I usually use beer batter)- this was the recipe to try. For the flour/cornmeal part I only used Lawrey's Garlic salt, cayenne pepper, and a little ground black pepper. I also used about 1/4 cup for cornmeal than the recipe calls for. It turned out great and was nice and crispy. For people who are having a hard time getting a crispy crust try having your frying oil at a higher temperature. I use peanut oil for frying and have it about 375-400 degrees. Not only does it get a nice brown exterior it's super crispy and things fry faster so you don't feel like you are eating as much grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRAH4689

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Wow. I've never successfully fried fish and I hate coatings that call for egg as I'm never sure whether the egg will chemically change enough not to affect me since I have a slight intolerance. This is a perfect blend of spices and an easy coating. I used it on whiting and it was absolutely delicious. Definitely will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is good; I did add more seasonings and some Panko breadcrumbs for extra crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This is good, it wasn't as crispy as I like it as in "fried fish", but it was a good coating hence the name. The spices in this worked well together. Not as good as others I've tried, but a really good change. Thanks Sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This was excellent, even better on shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
We use Peanut oil when frying fish, less absorbition from oil, Flash-Point (when oil smoke's from heat and catche's fire) is the highest of all meaning it can be used for extreme temperature's without breaking down. This recipe is Great for any White Fish including Cod, Polluck and Halibut. Make a batch of "Hush Puppies" to compliment your Fish. Remember that the type of White Fish you use may require various coating technique's as mentioned in the rating's here....Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States