Cornmeal Coating Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
coat the chicken with milk ...needs more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jades

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The key is to dip in coating, then egg, then coating again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I decided to make sole fish and chips for dinner as the man of the house requested a corn mean crusted fish (I usually use beer batter)- this was the recipe to try. For the flour/cornmeal part I only used Lawrey's Garlic salt, cayenne pepper, and a little ground black pepper. I also used about 1/4 cup for cornmeal than the recipe calls for. It turned out great and was nice and crispy. For people who are having a hard time getting a crispy crust try having your frying oil at a higher temperature. I use peanut oil for frying and have it about 375-400 degrees. Not only does it get a nice brown exterior it's super crispy and things fry faster so you don't feel like you are eating as much grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRAH4689

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This coating was okay, but a little bland. We baked the fish and finished it with a short broil; I think this coating is better suitied to frying. The recipe yields enough for two pounds of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Coating was good ,But did not adhere to the fish very well. Maybe doing an egg coating before the cornmeal would've helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
For a family that does not love fish but we keep trying to add it more into our dinner rotation, this was amazing! Easy, crunchy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This recipe was used to cook Walleye. Pretty good. I did use blackened seasoning instead of the salt and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I normally use Zatarains southern crispy fry but I was out so I tried this. It was lacking flavour and crisp. I will not make this again. I guess I am used to the box mix. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
easy and delicious every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States