Cornmeal Bacon Waffles with Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These waffles are the truest sense of the word comfort food. Something special Grandma down on the farm would serve for a Sunday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These are really good. I was surprised at how light and wonderfully textured the waffles turned out to be. I do suggest like others microwaving the bacon just enough to melt the fat off and make it crispy. The bacon does a lovely job cooking into the waffle. I had left over cheese sauce that I added milk and water (water cut the salty taste a tad) to. I whisked those together until I got a gravy consistency -next time I will make the cheese sauce even thinner. A little goes a long way. I also cheated and used corn muffin mix - same thing as cornmeal just extra baking powder in the box lol. Made 4 Belgian sized waffles. Worth a try for the curious minded. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This is my recipe - I just wanted to add that if you like your bacon real crispy then cook it for just long enough to start melting the fat off. Then it will become crispier in the waffle iron. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliacooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I mixed these up as directed, aaannd...the waffle iron would not heat up. Yes, the same waffle iron my DH's Grandpa used to cook waffles for him on finally gave out, so I had to improvise a bit. I chopped the bacon in half, laid down a strip, then poured the batter over it on the griddle for pancakes. That didn't do so well for cooking the bacon, so we fried the bacon up & drained it, then added the crumbled bacon to the batter & enjoyed with the "cheese syrup" as it is apparently called at my house lol. They were tasty, quick, & easy & we all enjoyed them. As pancakes I give them 4 1/2 stars because I'd prefer them to crisp up a bit better on the outside & they are not *quite* the best I have ever had. I gave the extra 1/2 star because this isn't a pancake recipie & I didn't follow it to a "T". My DH says they would be better with some black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I love to try different things and I've been looking forward to trying these for a while. I made these for family members for breakfast today and here's what I found. Prep is simple, I could mix all ingredients easily with just a fork. I cooked some bacon in the microwave for 45 seconds like Jules suggested, that made it crispy when it cooked. This made a nice thin batter. However,when it came to the cheese sauce nobody would touch it! I was the only one who did and I did not like it. It was salty. I had to scrape it off and use syrup. I still like the cheese sauce idea so I may try it again but make a sauce more like something you use in a welsh rabbit. If you do make this, make sure you keep syrup handy just in case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
The recipe was easy to make and the waffles were nice and fluffy. I choose to add crumbled bacon to the recipe which gave it a nice flavor. The cheese sauce did not go over and we ended up using syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These are great waffles my husband loved them and insisted that they should be a 4 1/2 star recipe. I really liked them as well. I did make cheese sauce i used 1/2 a log mexican velveda and heated it on the stove with 1 cup milk. It was a bit thin when headed up but thickened on the waffles and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klove_21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
These made a nice change from regular waffles. If I were to make them again, I would probably dice the bacon - left whole, it didn't cook very evenly. The cheese sauce actually turned out better than I thought; Husband threw some jalapeno slices from a jar on top, and said it was pretty good. Thanks, Jules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I really liked this recipe, but did things different. I seperated the eggs, and whipped the egg whites. That is the secret to any waffle recipe! Then, instead of bacon, I sprinkled the top of the waffle with chopped ham before closing griddle. They were so good!! Just make sure you spray the top of the griddle, as they wanted to stick a bit. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
A nice change. I stripped the excessive fat from my bacon before putting it in the waffles. Next time I think I'll chop up some ham and mix it into the batter instead of using bacon. I don't like processed cheese so we just ate them plain, but I think syrup would be nice also (I always liked the salty-sweet when the syrup from my pancakes seeped over to my bacon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States