Cornish Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Pretty good, basic rolls. Yeah, they are a tad bland but I'm not sure you want flavorful rolls if you are just going to add butter and jam or whatever. Still, I did add some Italian seasoning and Kosher salt to jack up the flavor a bit and it worked well. I doubled this and used another 1/2 teaspoon of yeast. I normally mix the dough in the bread machine, and I did that here, then shaped and baked. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
easy to make, nice texture, but little flavor. i doubled the salt, brushed them with butter before and after baking, and they were still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Excellent - just like my gran used to make. Delicious with Cornish clotted cream and some home made jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Yum, these were very good and relatively easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A good basic bread recipe. Nice texture and they bake beautifully but the flavor was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Sorry Linda Jackman, but I'm just not digging your recipe. First of all I did use my bread machine on the dough cycle. As I read through the list ingredients there were some reservations and my instints were correct. The final product was quite tasteless probably due to the lack of sugar and/or salt. Also I found 1 1/4 cups of milk way too much and would cut the milk back to 1 cup. Additional flour was needed to avoid a sticky mess in the bread pan. The rolls did rise nicely and looked delicious, but that is where it ends. Unfortunately there are so many good roll recipes on AR, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were delicious, just like the sort of roll you'd get at a bakery! Like the other reviewers I upped the salt to 1 tsp and they were perfect. I added some basil, oregano, parsley, garlic powder and onion powder just for some more flavor. I didn't measure, but I'd guess it was about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp each. Baked in an 8x8 pan, because thats what I had. Really really yummy, Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Tastey roll... they are fairly heavy and moist... truely a tastey dinner roll.. I made with 1 cup whole wheat flour... and 2 cups all-purpous... good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These rolls are very good and easy to make. Rather dense as opposed to light and fluffy. The first time I made it like the recipe. The second time I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These are honestly the best dinner rolls I have ever made- they were a huge success! The best part was how easy they are to make! The texture was awesome, very soft and dense. I spread butter on top right after I took them out of the oven- next time perhaps I'll try spreading them with garlic butter! It's making me hungry just writing this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States