Cornish Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
easy to make, nice texture, but little flavor. i doubled the salt, brushed them with butter before and after baking, and they were still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Excellent - just like my gran used to make. Delicious with Cornish clotted cream and some home made jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Yum, these were very good and relatively easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A good basic bread recipe. Nice texture and they bake beautifully but the flavor was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Sorry Linda Jackman, but I'm just not digging your recipe. First of all I did use my bread machine on the dough cycle. As I read through the list ingredients there were some reservations and my instints were correct. The final product was quite tasteless probably due to the lack of sugar and/or salt. Also I found 1 1/4 cups of milk way too much and would cut the milk back to 1 cup. Additional flour was needed to avoid a sticky mess in the bread pan. The rolls did rise nicely and looked delicious, but that is where it ends. Unfortunately there are so many good roll recipes on AR, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were delicious, just like the sort of roll you'd get at a bakery! Like the other reviewers I upped the salt to 1 tsp and they were perfect. I added some basil, oregano, parsley, garlic powder and onion powder just for some more flavor. I didn't measure, but I'd guess it was about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp each. Baked in an 8x8 pan, because thats what I had. Really really yummy, Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Tastey roll... they are fairly heavy and moist... truely a tastey dinner roll.. I made with 1 cup whole wheat flour... and 2 cups all-purpous... good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These rolls are very good and easy to make. Rather dense as opposed to light and fluffy. The first time I made it like the recipe. The second time I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These are honestly the best dinner rolls I have ever made- they were a huge success! The best part was how easy they are to make! The texture was awesome, very soft and dense. I spread butter on top right after I took them out of the oven- next time perhaps I'll try spreading them with garlic butter! It's making me hungry just writing this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Wonderfully soft with great texture. I used 1 tsp salt, 1 cup whole wheat bread flour, and 2 cups of white bread flour. The dough is kind of sticky but the listed amount of flour is perfect once you mix it all in. This will be my roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States