Cornish Hens with Rice Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
One of the best recipes I have ever tried -- the chicken/mushroom/rice combination was very flavorful, and the chicken fell off the bone! I added some extra mushrooms and onions; plus, I tried basting the chicken with some broth and rice before baking. (This step added a bit of a nice, crispy rice coating.) I especially liked that this recipe used ingredients, such as chicken broth and onion, that are staples in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but ran into two problems. The rice was overcooked but the biggest issue I had was that all the grease from the birds ended up in the rice. If you enjoy the sound of your arteries screaming then go for it... otherwise, cook the rice mixture in a separate bowl and put it in the oven 15 minutes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainnskittles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I liked this, but the rice was a little soggy, probably my fault, will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was fantastic....my boyfriend couldn't stop eating it. Next time I might either use low-sodium broth or less salt in the first mixture. Also I might add more onions and mushrooms, but I am big vegetable person. Other then that it was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I prepared this recipe exactly as stated. It was wonderful and baked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I actually simplified this like crazy, my daughter is picky so I left out mushrooms, celery, onion and marjoram. To my surprise she gobbled it up! It was SO easy to make, what a perfect Sunday dinner for 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
this is an absolutely great tasting dish... the rice is soooo good and the cornish hen turned out so tender.... I did leave cornish hen a little longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I thought this was excellent & couldn't have been any easier. I made a "cheater's" version in that I used a package of Uncle Ben's long grain & wild rice & added the amount of water/broth that the box calls for. Also used a can of sliced mushrooms, as I didn't have fresh. Only fixed one hen - & maybe overcooked it a bit. Could have probably removed the foil at about the 45 minute mark & let it finish cooking uncovered for another 20 or so to give the liquid a chance to absorb & the hen to brown a little. Leftover rice is five-stars all by itself! I'm fixing it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
the recipe as a whole was unsound. The rice did not cook the hen was under done and it was tasteless as prepared exactly following recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Nunda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this today for our Christmas dinner. It was absolutely wonderful, and so easy. The only thing I changed was the rice. I used Lundberg Wild Blend, a 1/2 cup and then an additional 1/4 cup of just Wild Rice, and increased the chicken broth to 2 cups. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Idaho Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States