Cornish Hen Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I made mine without potatoes and added a couple of bay leaves. It's become a weekly meal in our home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hajajah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freetown, Western Area, Sierra Leone
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Really good recipe. Easy to prepare, great for those chilly fall nights or that sick somebody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Thank you for such a good and easy recipe!! I had a really bad cold and I promise you this soup cure me right up. I would do it again when some one is sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanSpice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Perfect comfort food....I made a double batch to share with a neighbor who had a death in the family. She and her husband were so grateful to get a pot of steaming soup and rustic bread to eat before the news travelled and others brought the usual "funeral food" for the family that would gather in. My husband and I LOVED it and I am making more this week to freeze in one portion amounts for him to take to work. Our only changes were to add some of our homegrown fresh herbs (parsley, sage, rosemary....the thyme was already gone for the season :-) ) during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Also, our broth was the expensive kind from the natural foods store, but it lacked salt, so we added what we thought it needed. I think the quality of broth really made the soup rich and tasty and it was worth the expense! The hens were so easy to handle...why hadn't we thought of that! Thanks for a great recipe that we will make over and over, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This is a great recipe. I made this the night before a snow trip. Fast and easy! I served egg noodles with the soup. My critics were one hungry husband and 2 boys. Warm fresh bread with butter rounded up this crowd, frozen from too much fun. They finished lunch nice and warm ready for more snowball fights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was excellent! I was very surprised. It looked like the hen wouldn't supply enough meat for all of the veggies that this receipe calls for. But alas, do not let it fool you. This was perfect. The best homeade chicken/hen soup I've ever had. I did use more than dbl the broth to make it real juicy. Also, used Egg Noodles, and it was WONDERFUL. I spiced it up with salt, pepper, some greek seasonings, and a little bit of garlic powder. Very, very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Perfect! Budget friendly and really tasty! I made this with Vermicelli pasta instead of potatoes. The only thing I added other than that is a bay leaf. I just halved the hen and browned. BEWARE - those little hens take a long time to defrost - 3 days for a little hen! This would be easy to expand with more broth and more vegetables. An ideal cheap winter meal as written. Thanks for a great recipe, Danielle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This soup was very tasty and super easy too. Lots of vegetables. Even the picky 3 year old loved it. Great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very tasty! Who knew you could get so much meat from one little hen? This made two dinners for my husband and I, for very little money. He's a big fan of chicken noodle soup and thought this was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This recipe is super easy, and super good. The only change I made is to throw in some small ditalani pasta. I like my soup to be more like a stew. My step-son LOVES it, and he's a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States