Cornish Hen Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Perfect! Budget friendly and really tasty! I made this with Vermicelli pasta instead of potatoes. The only thing I added other than that is a bay leaf. I just halved the hen and browned. BEWARE - those little hens take a long time to defrost - 3 days for a little hen! This would be easy to expand with more broth and more vegetables. An ideal cheap winter meal as written. Thanks for a great recipe, Danielle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Really good recipe. Easy to prepare, great for those chilly fall nights or that sick somebody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I bent this recipe a bit to suit my needs and to make a little tastier end product. For a little more flavor, I added more vegetables (little more celery, REALLY BIG onion, some chopped turnip) and more spices (fresh parsley, couple bay leaves, poultry seasoning, fresh ground pepper, little sea salt). I wanted to make this into a rich chicken-ish noodle soup instead of potato soup so I nixed the potatoes, made my own handcut noodles (I used the steps from Great Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken recipe, which is also from this site) and cooked them in the broth of the soup after the removing bones step. This turned out a really flavorful soup that was comforting and filling. Cornish hens are almost always inexpensive and turn out some of the best dishes--this soup was no exception. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I also added rice instead of potatoes and some Tony Chachere and boiled eggs it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This recipe is super easy, and super good. The only change I made is to throw in some small ditalani pasta. I like my soup to be more like a stew. My step-son LOVES it, and he's a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very tasty! Who knew you could get so much meat from one little hen? This made two dinners for my husband and I, for very little money. He's a big fan of chicken noodle soup and thought this was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Thank you for such a good and easy recipe!! I had a really bad cold and I promise you this soup cure me right up. I would do it again when some one is sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanSpice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Perfect comfort food....I made a double batch to share with a neighbor who had a death in the family. She and her husband were so grateful to get a pot of steaming soup and rustic bread to eat before the news travelled and others brought the usual "funeral food" for the family that would gather in. My husband and I LOVED it and I am making more this week to freeze in one portion amounts for him to take to work. Our only changes were to add some of our homegrown fresh herbs (parsley, sage, rosemary....the thyme was already gone for the season :-) ) during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Also, our broth was the expensive kind from the natural foods store, but it lacked salt, so we added what we thought it needed. I think the quality of broth really made the soup rich and tasty and it was worth the expense! The hens were so easy to handle...why hadn't we thought of that! Thanks for a great recipe that we will make over and over, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This soup was very tasty and super easy too. Lots of vegetables. Even the picky 3 year old loved it. Great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I made mine without potatoes and added a couple of bay leaves. It's become a weekly meal in our home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hajajah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freetown, Western Area, Sierra Leone
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States