Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We enjoyed the rice stuffing; I'd recommend making a double batch of it and saving whatever doesn't fit in the hens to serve on the side. As for the hens themselves, I left them covered with foil for the entire cooking time, and they came out tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Super easy and super delicious!! I added extra salt, pepper and chopped up rosemary to the sauce before cooking. After cooking I blended the sauce in the blender then reduced it. Amazingly DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is perfect !! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made this exact recipe for over 30 years for Christmas dinner. Even when my six kids were all little, it was fast and elegant. No dishes to pass around the crowded table, and everyone got their favorite part (white meat, dark meat, breast, thigh, leg)and ALL the kids got a wishbone (unlike Thanksgiving, when they fight over it). I always bought 2 more birds than needed since they are inexpensive and fast to prepare, so I was always covered in case we had an unexpected guest. I learned to prepare the rice recipe according to the number of guests, so there is plenty of extra rice (for 2 people, double it; for 6 people, multiply all ingredients x6). Add a vegetable (green bean casserole or candied yams), rolls, 2 candles and a bottle of wine, and it is such a lovely meal that you didn't spend all day cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added two dashes of cinnamon to the basting melted butter. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is delicious and different from hum drum chicken and rice. Even my husband, who prefers everything fried, likes it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The timing was spot-on for my two Perdue hens. I didn't use the wild rice recipe, however, but rather Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice blend for the stuffing, to which I added chopped onion, celery and carrot (delicious). Brushed with the melted butter and sprinkled with poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This came out great. I used boxed wild rice. Also added baby bella mushrooms to the stuffing. The cooking times have been updated and mine came out a little dry. Overall excellent and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this as a base recipe, but I always tweak a little something. We had a gorgeous jar of chicken stock we'd boiled down last week so I used that in lieu of half the water and bouillon. As it turned out then I had to add water a few times before the rice was close to 'fluffy.' That step was more like an hour than 45 minutes. Seasoned the hens with a a little sagey poultry mix too. Also didn't have a rack so just cozied them up to one another in some Corningware. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States