Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This is a very easy recipe and tastes great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
easy and good I love the rice stuffing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Very good taste - only suggestion is to decrease the amount of melted butter for basting - 1/4 cup seemed a bit much more than is needed. I also had to cook the rice mixture a bit longer than was suggested before the liquid was absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I found this recipe a couple weeks ago and then my grocer put cornish game hen on sale, so I've tested this recipe twice! This one is a real winner. Easy to prepare, but remember to start this a couple hours before you want to eat. As a great bonus it makes your house smell great. A couple of substitutions that I made were using 1/3 cup of wild rice pilaf instead of just wild rice, this worked out perfectly. I also used 1 cup of low sodium canned chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water which worked well too. Also, I liked adding 2 Tbls of golden raisins to the butter, almonds, and onions for the rice stuffing. It gives it a nice sweet dimension. Also, if you don't have any slivered almonds on hand you can use any others nuts. I just chopped some mixed nuts and used those and it was still yummy! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I left out the salt and only used a very scant tsp. of granular bouillon because of low-salt restrictions. I added mushrooms and garlic to use them up and added a pinch of poultry seasoning for flavor because of no salt. I also used brown rice because that's what I had. My husband raved about this (very unusual!). Thank you, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was fabulous. The hens came out really tender and everyone raved about the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I used this recipe for my 2 year annniversary. As a beginning cook I found this recipe very easy to follow, and very delicious. My husband absolutely loved the cornish hens. The only thing that I changed (for time constraints) was the wild rice. I used the Uncle Bens Microwave Rice to start the cooking on the rice and then I added butter and cooked it on the stove top to get the long grains softer. A tip that I would give anyone that uses this recipe is to make sure the rice is cooked thoroughly before you stuff the hens, and make sure you do leave the skin on while baking; otherwise your hens will get dry. Overall I would say that this recipe was very good. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotoriousYBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I'm not a great cook and even I wowed my guests! Really easy and great for entertaining as it doesn't require alot of babysitting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I love this recipe! It seems like a gourmet meal but is very easy to make. I don't leave it in quite as long as the recommended time and it turns out juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This recipe was very good. I used more rice (about a third of a cup more, used the appropriate amount of water and butter also). Very tender and yummy and most of all EASY! Next time I will try some different spices on the meat, just to enhance it a little more. The best part (versus a turkey or chicken), no leftovers. The rice was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States