Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This is a very easy recipe and tastes great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
easy and good I love the rice stuffing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Very good taste - only suggestion is to decrease the amount of melted butter for basting - 1/4 cup seemed a bit much more than is needed. I also had to cook the rice mixture a bit longer than was suggested before the liquid was absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Mmmm! Very yummy! The stuffing was a bit overly salty, but the meat was wonderful! I didn't put almonds in the stuffing, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
It was very good but the rice does take longer to cook. You might have to add more water depending on the wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Delicious! I made a few modifications to the recipe. I used a regular 4 lb. chicken, and added rosemary, oregano, and black pepper to the outside of the bird. I also substituted celery for the almonds in the stuffing (don't care for almonds) and added a clove of minced garlic. The stuffing is good enough to serve as a stand-alone side dish. This made a wonderful meal on a chilly autumn evening, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I added celery instead of almonds and used chicken broth instead of water. The meat turned out tender and moist, but the rice stuffing that I was looking forward to eating was crunchy and very salty. Not what I had hoped for. If I were to use this recipe again, I would not include the chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I found this recipe a couple weeks ago and then my grocer put cornish game hen on sale, so I've tested this recipe twice! This one is a real winner. Easy to prepare, but remember to start this a couple hours before you want to eat. As a great bonus it makes your house smell great. A couple of substitutions that I made were using 1/3 cup of wild rice pilaf instead of just wild rice, this worked out perfectly. I also used 1 cup of low sodium canned chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water which worked well too. Also, I liked adding 2 Tbls of golden raisins to the butter, almonds, and onions for the rice stuffing. It gives it a nice sweet dimension. Also, if you don't have any slivered almonds on hand you can use any others nuts. I just chopped some mixed nuts and used those and it was still yummy! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I left out the salt and only used a very scant tsp. of granular bouillon because of low-salt restrictions. I added mushrooms and garlic to use them up and added a pinch of poultry seasoning for flavor because of no salt. I also used brown rice because that's what I had. My husband raved about this (very unusual!). Thank you, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was fabulous. The hens came out really tender and everyone raved about the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States