Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
will try next time with a whole chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I used thyme instead of rosemary - personal preference. Also used minced garlic instead of whole cloves. Only did two hens but the only thing I cut down on was the oil - otherwise it worked out fine. I had to cook the hens about 75 minutes, and they were still just barely done (thermometer read 165). I boiled the sauce 10 minutes before I just added cornstarch to speed things up. Flavor was magnificent, though - would absolutely serve for company next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I used two hens. Added onions (cut into 1/8th quarters) and added Rosemary seasoning with the salt and pepper. I went much lighter on the olive oil to save calories and WW Points +. It was so simple to make plus I kept it even easier by not adding the wine (saved calories) too and saved steps and pans by not reducing the broth. Saved left over broth in frig. After I cut the hens in half I returned them to the oven to finish browning up all over. I estimate WW points plus at 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Wow. Just wow. This was amazing. I had picked up Cornish game hens on sale and had no idea what to do with them. I can't imagine a better way to cook them. They were crispy skinned and very juicy and tender. The pan drippings made one amazing gravy and the roasted garlic was so good both on its own and mashed into the gravy. I used a semi-dry Riesling and roasted garlic chicken broth. I used only two hens but kept everything else the same (more gravy this way) except for using dry rosemary instead of fresh since that is what I had on hand. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and salad. This was an easy and very tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome, dish my first time cooking this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I doubled the leman and garlic....Outstanding!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I found this recipe a few years ago here and it is now a frequent dish in our home. I usually use a whole chicken instead of game hens and it is simply delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
It was really very good and the sauce was amazing, but I think Ill make it in the slow cooker next time. Its probably just me but it took forever to roast. I think the slow cooker cooks chicken more thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenachka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Excellent flavor and easy to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Deeeelicious!! My family loved these hens. I didn't have fresh Rosemary on hand so I used dried herbs de Provence. Stuffed the hens with the lemon and fresh minced garlic as directed and added some broth in the pan as suggested so that the garlic cloves didn't burn. I forgot to add the wine and more broth to the pan so I added wine to the renderings when making the sauce. Thickened a bit with some cornstarch.. yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States