Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is the best recipe ever! The hen was so flavorful and tender. I didn't have lemons so I used dried lemon rind seasoning instead; everything else was the same. It was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Amazing!!! I added thyme and doubled the sauce. Delicious- def a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeezNeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Quite delicious especially with those whole garlic cloves. I made mashed potatoes to serve with the hens as well, and with the sauce and garlic cloves everything was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
After 40 years, I finally found a cornish hen recipe I'll keep! I followed suggestions and made a paste of EVOO, butter, garlic, lemon and rosemary in the am, then put under the skin just before baking. I put garlic with lemon and rosemary in the cavity and poured broth and wine in the pan to keep the garlic from burning and also to have the broth pick up the garlic flavor. I crushed the garlic in the sauce to put over the hens and also to spread on a baguette. My only regret is that I made only 2 and have no leftovers.15 other allrecipe.com entries are now trashed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara King
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Excellent! A keeper recipe. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I thought it was very bland. The gravy was ok, but the meat didn't have much flavor. The skin also didn't get that crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Husband said these tasted like they came from a restaurant. Followed directions and was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
KEEPER! I have always struggled with a way to make Cornish hens both flavorful and tender. But since I like the idea of serving them for special occasions, I have kept at it. Finally, I can stop the search! Simply wonderful recipe, easy to do with fabulous results. As so many others, I did my own adaption: I like mild garlic flavor, so for two hens, I only used one head of garlic, about 8 cloves. That was perfect for us. I also omitted the rosemary and added a quarter of an orange to the cavity, with one big slice of lemon. It ended up giving a lovely orange/citrus flavor to the sauce. Next time, I might add a bit of orange juice to the sauce as well. Baking time was spot on (I agree with others recommending an oven thermometer) and the birds were a lovely brown-golden color. Moist and tasty. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I used this for 3 hens and then for a single hen. Easy and versatile. I replaced the wine with sherry, the rosemary with basil. It works for whatever herbs are available and whatever wine you have. I used flour to thinken the sauce and strained it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States