Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This recipe is incredible. I ate my hen with my hands, hot from the oven, juices running down my fingers like I was in Game of Thrones. I substituted sage for rosemary (I don't really care for rosemary) and threw in some chopped onions and chopped mushrooms. Skipped the white wine 'cause I didn't have any, and basted with some bone broth I'd made previously. Delicious. A meal fit for a Lannister. Or a Manderly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I loved this! I only made one hen, halved the original recipe and added butter, lemon, and rosemary under the skin like other comments have suggested. It was amazing. The gravy was terrific and the hen was soft and easy to eat. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This chicken was flavorless, but moist. For all of the work that went into it, I was expecting better results. I would not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I was looking for a new way to cook cornish game hens and this fit the bill perfectly! I won't use any other way from here on out. My husband loved them! I did stuff butter, garlic, and rosemary under the skin and added chicken broth to the pan so the garlic wouldn't burn. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I only did two hens and cut the garlic down to 12 cloves. It was excellent, will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Simple to make, yet elegant and delicious. It made me seem like a better cook than I really am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Love love love this recipe! So easy to make and so delicious! We made this for Easter dinner and it was a huge hit. Great flavor and awesome gravy. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I searched for a long time for a Cornish Hen recipes since I had never made them before, and did I find a winner! It was so easy, flavorful, and juicy! I did make a few modifications, I used 2 hens since it's just my husband and I, In the cavity of each bird I put a quarter lemon, 2 cloves of garlic and 2 sprigs of fresh rosemary. I read the recipe wrong and actually rubbed 1 tbsp of olive oil on each hen, but still came out good. I then put 1 tbsp butter under the skin on each breast, along with 2 sprigs of the fresh rosemary. I sprinkled some poultry seasoning on each hen along with a lemon slice on the breast and then placed them in my roasting pan on top of cubed yukon gold potatoes. After roasting I took 2/3 c. of cheap pinot grigio, 2/3 c. chicken broth, and about 5 cloves of minced garlic and used that to pour over the hens and baste with. Holy cats was this great! My whole house smelt amazing, and the potatoes were the best I'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was my first time making Cornish hens and these were amazing. I can't wait to make this for company. I made the recipe as is, but halved it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma-Mangia
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This dish came out amazing, the whole family loved it. I added some more wine to the garlic & pan drippings and then hit it with a hand stick mixer to purée it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma-Mangia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States