Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe! I made only to hens and followed the recipe as if I as making four. I also added garlic powder, onion powder and old bay seasoning to the recipe. I also stuffed the hens with one clove of garlic and roasted the hens breast side down as others suggested. came out very tender and delicious. The only downside was that I did not have enough juice after baking to make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were really good. The only thing different that I did was that I stuffed the cornish hens with stuffing & then I wrapped the entire bird in raw bacon before cooking. So good & the flavor was unbelievable. This is the only way I can get all my kids to gobble them up & they did. The bacon becomes so crisp and flavorful. It also makes for a great base for gravy. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KateE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I had never made cornish hens, but decided to venture out & make them for Valentines Dinner earlier this week. WOW! My husband & I LOVED this recipe! I only made 2 hens, but followed all measurements of the original recipe. I made a few additional tweaks as follows: 1. I brined the hens for 2 hours prior to baking. I soaked them in chicken broth, water, red wine vinegar, white rice vinegar, spoonful of brown sugar, little honey [I just eye-balled all of these ... can't really go wrong!] 2. Sprayed bottom of pan with cooking spray so garlic cloves wouldn't burn 3. Put 4-5 garlic cloves inside of hen cavities [as well as around outside] 4. Brushed melted butter on skin 5. Sprinkled garlic & onion powder on skin 5. Baked 30 minutes at 450 [instead of 25 min] & baked 35 minutes at 350 [instead of 25 min] These turned out GREAT! I will definitely make again! Highly recommend giving it a try! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
How delicious! I roasted these hens breast down which allowed the lemon juice and rosemary to be asborbed in the breast. I will definitely use this for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Excellent! Only change is I'd make more sauce/basting liquid next time. There wasn't much left in the pan to make sauce from afterward. Otherwise, completely excellent and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
We had never made Cornish game hens before and made these for Christmas dinner. (Always a great time to try out something new, right? No pressure?) Anyway, they came out wonderfully. They only get four stars instead of five because while they were good, I wasn't blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe the first and second nights. By the third night, I was a little bored and had a guest coming for dinner. So I took the the two remaining hens and removed the skin and bones. Added the meat to the leftover sauce with a little extra wine, chicken broth, and lemon juice. Served it over pasta and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
EZ & tasty. Next time, I'll turn the bird over to brown the other side. I added quartered potatoes, they were the best part of the dish. Next time w/ chicken. Game hens are just okay in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was a really nice meal. The hens were beautiful brown and juicy, and the sauce thickened nicely and was a great addition. I definitely recommend doubling it, because it's good mixed in with some wild rice too. The garlic cloves spread nicely on the chicken once it's on your plate. My only problem is with hens in general - they're so hard to pick apart and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent...the only change I made was I used one sprig of fresh thyme instead of rosemary, mainly because I only had thyme..would make this again. My husband who likes garlic, but only a few cloves enjoyed this as the garlic seemed light and not strong. Definitely would make this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States