Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
My husband and I love this recipe! We usually add some garlic powder to the salt/pepper rub. Some of the garlic we leave in the bulbs around the hens and sprinkle a little olive oil on them...they go great with the hens and are a lovely addition to mashed potatoes! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana Howell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
WOW!!! Fabulous flavor...juicy with the perfect balance of of lemon, rosemary, olive oil and garlic! I followed the cooking/timing exactly as the recipe said. Perfectly done! I also followed the previous recommendations to double the sauce (I cooked 2 hens and kept the sauce amounts as for 4 hens). The only thing I did new was to coat the garlic cloves (with the thin coat of skin still on) with olive oil right before this went into the oven at 450 degrees. After the 25 minutes, I put the sauce ingredients over the hens. Who doesn't love roasted garlic? Soft, creamy and sweet! The garlic was like candy! Next time I make this, the garlic will be "smashed" with little hot cooked red new potatoes! Great recipe!!! My husband and I have very happy bellies! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Easy, delicious, and juicy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe looked so good that I had to try it. Being Easter Sunday, and the stores closed, I improvised. Dried rosemary, dried granulated garlic (can't believe I ran out of fresh), brushed the hens with butter instead of olive oil. Made gravy thickened with cornstarch -- no additional chicken broth, I used water, and drank the wine!! Delicious and oh, soooooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Followed recipe... didnt love it. Probably wouldnt make it again. I have a awesome recipe for roasted rosemary chicken, so I may be a little bias. Wasnt a fan of the lemon flavor... but I did like the flavor of the cornish hen, lemon and garlic aside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
made recipe exactly as printed [i always do this before i tweek anything] and it was delicious. Hubby said he could taste every flavor in there, lemon, rosemary and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I actually used one large roasting chicken instead of game hens because that's what I had. One of the best chicken's I've ever made. I didn't baste mine every ten minutes because I just don't have time for that, just every 20-25 minutes or so was fine for me. We really enjoyed this AND there's just enough for chicken salad tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I served it with an herbed rice and asparagus, and nearly every taste bud in my mouth was satisfied. I finished the meal with a molten chocolate cake and decided I'd just eaten the perfect meal. My husband agreed wholeheartedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I must have done something wrong because it didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. I may try it again but not any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe! I made only to hens and followed the recipe as if I as making four. I also added garlic powder, onion powder and old bay seasoning to the recipe. I also stuffed the hens with one clove of garlic and roasted the hens breast side down as others suggested. came out very tender and delicious. The only downside was that I did not have enough juice after baking to make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States