Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe is exceptional and so easy.I wanted to replicate our wedding dinner menu (42 years ago)and this was perfect. I would not change a thing. I served it with fresh green beans almondine and wild and long grain rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My first attempt at making Cornish hens... really easy to follow recipe and I followed very closely to the recipe except I don't have fresh rosemary, so I used dried crused rosemary, mixed them in the white wine/broth sauce and poured over the hens after 25 mins. Also didn't have a baste... but it turned out just fine. This might inspire me to make more cornish hens recipes! Thank you for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
perfect, really, but i only did 2 hens and kept the same amount of sauce (maybe even a tad more) roasted some new potatoes along side them and whole carrots with the hens. should have added celery as i planned to (but forgot) also added a touch of sage and thyme in the broth. nice that something so simple could turn out so well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
yummy yum yum. my first time cooking a game hen and it was radically yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Agree with others that this is a delightful, tasty recipe but the game hens I cooked definitely required more time than the recipe specified. I'd say about 20 minutes more. I also doubled the liquid that the recipe called for and threw a quarter cup of flour into it afterward to make a delightful gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Served for Christmas. It was easy to do. Everyone loved it and shared the receipe. My sister is making for her friends two days later. It was a hit!! flavorful the garlic was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious and well written instructions! Like others mention here definitely double the amount of sauce (at least). At step 4, making the sauce, I added 1-2 TBS flour to make a gravy and chopped up the garlic into it - delicious gravy!! My husband and I enjoyed these hens with some stuffing on the side for Christmas dinner and were extremely glad we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! Easy to prepare and always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Rainbow City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this for a special family dinner and everyone loved it, even my 6 year old who only eats chk nuggets! Very very very GOOD! I recommend brining the hens. It really does make a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was amazing. The gravy turned out excellent, the birds were delicious and infused with that great fresh rosemary flavor. My boyfriend loved it. I made this with steamed asparagus in a white wine Parmesan cheese sauce and roasted red potatoes drizzled with a combination of melted butter and extra light olive oil mixed with crushed rosemary and sweet basil. My god. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States