Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These were fantastic! While I did need to increase the cooking time by and additional 15 or so minutes, I didn't need to make any other changes. Based on similar Cornish hen recipes, it seems many other people have had to do the same. So don't make this if you're in a rush as it seems the time may vary...but even if I had wait a little extra, totally worth it! Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It was good but still prefer Ina Garten's Cornish Hen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed this recipe as close as I could for what I had in the house. I made 2 hens but left the sauce the same. I didn't have fresh lemon so I poured a little juice in the cavity. I only had dried rosemary. I put 1 garlic clove in each cavity. The hen was moist and flavorful. When I made the gravy I pressed the cloves and added corn starch to thicken it. The gravy was delicious! We poured it over the hens and over mashed potatoes. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I've never cooked any bird. This was my first because I was showing off to my wife. We both loved it. I'm glad I took advice from the reviews and prepared the full ingredients for only 2 birds. It was just enough. If you do 4 birds I would double the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This had a great flavor! I made no changes, except only cooked two birds. I also put the other half of the lemon in with the garlic cloves. My only problem was the skin of the birds didn't crisp. I will have to find how to fix that, because I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is a new favorite for us! My oldest son, who hates gravy, even was sopping it up! I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used dried; absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was a quick and easy recipe to follow and the flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffani Pierre
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I loved it!!! It was my first time cooking Cornish hens and the recipe was simple... I did add a little chicken stock to the roasting pan so the garlic wouldn't burn... I only made 2 hens Nd keep the sauce recipe the same... This was definetly a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani Pierre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very moist and delicious. The bottom didn't crisp up so I put it under the boiler at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or so. The lemon stuffed into the cavity definitely needed. I made 2 hens for the 2 of us, we ate 1 1/2 between us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Made this last night and turned out awesome. Didn't reduce the sauce either, since was serving it with Saffron rice and wanted to have some juice to pour over the rice. Absolutely yummy! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferryal Lackey
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States