Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is incredible - thank you so much for sharing!! I did not change the recipe one bit!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was astounding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavroche
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The sauce burnt at the bottom of the pan so I could not make the gravy and they took a lot longer to cook even though All Recipes said they adjusted it. The meat was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These were fabulous. In addition to putting lemon and rosemary in the cavity, I added some garlic cloves. I also added some thinly sliced lemon and butter under the skin of each hen. Had to cook them longer and at a lower temperature so the hens would cook through first and not burn on the outside. I started at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes and then increased the temp to 450 to get the skin crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Roasting time of 50 minutes total was nowhere near long enough - and I was only doing half the recipe (two hens). Skin was getting black by the end, but meat was raw in the middle, and garlic cloves were still crunchy. I would try an hour and a half, and cover for some of it to prevent burning. After cooking for extra time, though, it was very tasty. I added more broth, seasoning, and flour to the drippings to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Some might not believe me, but this was the first meal I have ever made in all my 26 years (discluding boxed mac n cheese). It was fantastic! I made it for Christmas Eve dinner and everyone raved about it. I did make a few changes though. First I put garlic butter under the skin (stick butter bought at the supermarket) and the other main thing I did different was put the garlic cloves, wine, broth and broccoli in the pan all at the same time before putting in the oven. It was a mistake but it made everything so tender and juicy. It was a welcomed mistake on my part. I read most of these reviews before I made this so I hope this enhances someone else's experience as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This meal was incredibly delicious! I did however do extra things to make it this way. I brined in the "Citrus Turkey Brine" found on all recipes, of course changing it to fit the amount of hen I was using. In this case I was cooking 4 hens. I only brined for 2 hours. Then I boiled carrots, celery, potatoes, onion and garlic in a water/vegetable/chicken broth mixture until they were close to tender. I placed all the veggies in the bottom of the pan and then placed the hens on top (breast side down). I followed all the directions of this recipe, but placed orange with the lemon and rosemary inside the hens. I poured a little wine and chicken broth with the veggies before the basting when lowering the temp. I also flipped the birds over when I lowered the temp. When they were done it was super moist and they were perfectly golden brown! Yum!! After it was all done I took the drippings and made gravy... soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILANNE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Wow...I was surprised at how good this was given that it was so easy! I forgot to buy lemons at the grocery store so I used a red onion instead. My husband loved it as did I! Served with wild rice and broccoli. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Delicioso, Bravo, Superb meal...thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipes was okay. I made two of these hens for my dad and I in lieu of making a big turkey for Thanksgiving, and maybe it was just because I really wanted turkey, but this recipe was nothing special. You couldn't even taste the rosemary or lemon. Next time I make this, I'll be sure to use more rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States